Quick check in

Hey guys!

I am really really swamped with work (my own fault, I spent a lot of time doing things besides homework today) — but I’m also tired after a big, awesome day.

It started with swim, which went so quickly! I spent the morning with Nina at the library, then headed to the dietitian. I came home and made myself a delish lunch, did some homework, and then hung out with Mel before I went to a really special event at Brescia. When Meg invited me, I knew it was something that was right up my alley.

QUINOA, spinach, apple, and cheddar cheese (with maple vinaigrette)

yogurt with cocoa and a couple of chocolate chips!

Ever heard of Health At Every Size? Don’t be ashamed if you haven’t, but now you Β have no reason not to check it out.

The gal who spoke tonight was a Brescia grad who got involved with the group, which is about:

  • Accepting and respecting the natural diversity of body sizes and shapes.
  • Eating in a flexible manner that values pleasure and honors internal cues of hunger, satiety, and appetite.
  • Finding the joy in moving one’s body and becoming more physically vital.

And she was AMAZING. She spoke with such passion about a topic I’d always thought was interesting (I think I came across it inΒ Intuitive Eating, which is part of the HAES movement) and I really walked away feeling like I couldn’t think of a much better way to spend my evening. Her name was Julie Rochefort and you should probably follow her on twitter!

She summed up what I’m really trying to live: weight is just an outcome. It doesn’t matter. What matters is your health and everything else: how well you’re eating, whether or not you’re taking care of yourself mentally, if you’re being active/respecting your body…

Wowzer! This, plus all that reading I’ve been sucked into lately, is making for an excited me! πŸ™‚ Not to mention 2 days from now I’ll be in Texas! It’s time for me to edit the assignments I’ve got to hand in tomorrow, and maybe think about the one I have to start/finish for Sunday (aka for Friday night, cuz I don’t want to leave it til I’m on the plane!).

When’s the last time someone really impressed you/left an impression on you with a presentation?
Have you heard of Health At Every Size?Β 

6 responses to “Quick check in

  1. That sounds like such a cool event!! I’ve never heard of it but I’m following on twitter now πŸ™‚ I love “weight is just an outcome” – it really doesn’t mean much as long as your living a healthy lifestyle. I’ve stopped weighing myself and go by feel now. I know by how I feel in my clothes, my energy level, and my mood whether I’m doing things right or not!

  2. Aaah this sounds so cool! “weight is just an outcome”…I think you even said something like this to me in a comment once – it’s a byproduct, not a goal! I wish more of the mainstream media would place more of an emphasis on healthy lifestyle than weightloss. And the eating in a flexible way part…yeah. You can’t just feed the body, you have to feed your soul too right? And AAAAH it’s your spring break!! Texas!! I’d say you should come to Philadelphia instead but its nasty here so go to Texas and get some sun πŸ˜€ lol!! I can’t wait to hear all about your relaxing vacation!!

    • Awe, thanks for the support here! I really think we’re onto something with the weight is just a result, not a thing to worry about idea. πŸ™‚

      I went to Philly for the last two Gran Fondos! Last year’s got rained out…and this time will be a week or so after my half IM so I don’t know if my friends are gonna wanna go / if I’ll be up for it…but if i do? How about a blogger style century ride?! πŸ™‚

  3. Kaitlyn @ Pain Can Be Fun

    Wow, that is SO important…”weight is just an outcome….health is what’s important”…..I’ve never really heard it like that before, but wow! What a great, great quote. Thanks so much for sharing πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

