Overnight oats in a can…of pumpkin.

More pumpkin!

I am really excited about this morning’s breakfast…it tasted particularly AWESOME after this morning’s master’s swim. I think I did about 2400 and the workout was less drill-based than normal, but it was “easy” for the Monday/Wednesday/Friday group, apparently! Oh well. It’s all relative. My hip feels off…but I’ll rest tomorrow and see what happens. The fact that it’s going to be seven degrees out today is not helping my mental state. I will be able to run all summer, though, if I deal with this NOW, and it will be so much warmer than seven degrees (that’s note even 50 fahrenheit, kiddos!).

Overnight oats in a can…of pumpkin 

Ingredients:
Can:
can of pumpkin (maybe 1/2 cup)
1/2 cup vanilla yogurt
1/2 cup cereal (I used a mix of spelt, kamut, and rye flakes with rolled oats)

Toppings:
crushed almonds
raisins
cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg, etc.

Directions:
Combine can ingredients, mixing and placing in the refrigerator overnight.
When ready to eat, add crushed almonds, raisins, and spices.
Enjoy!

I think this would also taste great with almond butter and I might add some vanilla soy milk next time. The yogurt I had just needed to be eaten, and it worked! Yum.

8 responses to “Overnight oats in a can…of pumpkin.

  1. I haven’t had overnight oats in awhile, but this reminded me how much i LOVE them! And i’ve been growing tired of my hot oats in the morning so time for the switch back! 🙂

  2. Haha I’ve never seen oats in a pumpkin can! I love the creativity!

  3. I love the can idea – maybe this’ll be a new blogger trend!? 😉

  4. OOOH OOH A CAN-adian one!!!

  5. Pingback: Flowers and a date | eatplayluvblog

  6. Pingback: A new breakfast staple | Happy is the new healthy

Leave a Reply

