Spin Playlist – January 30, 2012

As promised, here’s this week’s spin playlist. Some classics and some stuff I’m trying out. It worked for the people at The Athletic Club who were looking for a workout, but more climbing means more tension and thus self motivation is required!

Pre-warm up and warm up:

Could You Believe – ATB

Helena Beat – Foster The People

Tempo work (pick up pace on chorus, first one seated, second standing, third on a hill)

Stronger (What Doesn’t Kill You) – Kelly Clarkson

1x1s (1 minute heavy climb, 1 minute flat road x 3)

Not Falling Apart Remix – Maroon 5

Lifts/tempo (8 counts up/8 counts down, hold standing and add tempo on chorus)

Lovestoned Remix – Justin Timberlake*

Seated flat (balls to the wall)

Electrolove – Kuba Oms

Tabata sprints – flat road (7×20 seconds on/10 seconds off)

Building climb (seated to standing, add tension as you go)

Titanium – David Guetta ft. Sia

Standing climb (add hovers)

T.H.E. (The Hardest Ever) – Will.I.Am

Sprints (3×40 on/20 off)

Levels (original) – Avicii

Rolling hills (seated, standing, get to top, flat road x 4)

The Silence – Delerium ft.ย Sarah McLachlan**

Seated flat sprints with music (80 to 90 to 100 percent effort, empty the tank!)

Closer To the Edge – 30 Seconds to Mars

Cooldown/stretch:

Albatross – Big Wreck

I Was Here – Beyonce

I hope you enjoyed! I used some of the same ones and writing these posts makes me realize that. That being said, having an entirely new playlist every week is ridiculous in my mind. I like some consistency and it gives you a chance to compare how ya feel over a course of a couple gos at the same song! Or you could change the routine as the instructor–I think people forget about songs when you do this to them. Sneaky… SO not the same music every week, but a few gems that keep coming back, which is what the * and ** is about. I play the Sarah McLachlan song a lot (largely because it’s awesome and because it takes up 10:30 seconds of a class and can work for a mix of different things). I definitely forgot about the Justin Timberlake remix but I heard it at Charity Ball and somehow in my drunkenness remembered to download it the next day! Success.

Happy sweating!

Any suggestions for my next playlist?
Do you like to hear some songs coming back into playlists? ย 

10 responses to “Spin Playlist – January 30, 2012

  1. Oh no I forgot to send you those songs! To your Facebook wall I go!

  2. Great playlist, I always zone out with some music when I am on my spin bike/trainer for epically long rides.

  3. I love this!!! aaaah I’m so excited. I’m the only one awake at the moment so I can’t play these (whereee are my headphones…?) but I love all these artists – Foster the People, 30 Seconds to Mars, Aviici, JT, David Guetta etc – so I’m def gonna download all of these!! my iPod is dying for something new. And um props for remembering to download songs after a night out? That power ALWAYS escaped me unfortunately haha.

  4. love this!! i really need new music ideas.
    I do like to hear the same songs once in a while because I tend to download say 10 songs at a time and then listen to that playlist over and over whenever i work out until i download my next batch lol. Sometimes they just become motivating and if I really pushed myself during one song then the next time I listen to it I will remember that and it helps me in my next workout., lol kind of weird ?? The song T.H.E. has been one of those songs lately!

  5. Love this playlist! Anything with JT gets my heart pumping – in a couple of different ways ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. I am not sure what you are into for podcasts, but I love to subscribe to a few of my favourite DJs and listen to their podcasts. Try Dada Life, if you like electronic !

Leave a Reply

