Everything I eat looks like…

I’m not going to finish the title.

This morning’s breakfast sums it all up:

It was overnight oats and though I thought it was a little too sweet, it was perfect. I added crushed almonds (stolen from the snack I packed for later) to add crunch, but otherwise I stuck to the recipe for Easy Vegan Overnight Oats from Oh She Glows (thanks for the suggestion guys!).

This was a post-swim breakfast number two, and instead of thinking of my earlier meal as a snack I thought of it as breakfast number one and had a full bowl of Kashi Go Lean Crisp cereal with rice milk.

I felt good during the swim this morning, even though I didn’t sleep all that well last night.

I tried to relax last night, no guiltiness allowed. After dinner, I went to the mall in search of shoes to wear to Charity Ball on Saturday (essentially prom for university). I have a dress that is a bit tight because I bought it last year but I’m going to go for it. I sometimes think that what feels really tight to me is what feels like something fitting well to other people, if that makes sense. I used to crave the feeling of my jeans falling down, so now I think I associate things fitting with being “too tight”…if you know me and you want to tell me that I am wrong and that in fact I squeeze into things like a sausage, I’ll appreciate the honesty!

I had dinner and dessert after bootcamp and spin (PS I am SO glad to be back at the spin teaching, even if I have to be conservative with my own resistance). I don’t know how else to prevent overeating after working out–beforehand I made sure I had a snack and I went straight home and had dinner before I even showered. I STILL ate so much extra baguette, margarine, croutons, and chicken while I was getting it ready and then so many chocolate chips before I just decided to have some dark chocolate as my dessert then and there.  I’m still not where I want to be, but I’m going to talk to my dietitian about maybe if it would be smarter to eat a snack after my workout and delay dinner a bit…I bet the snack would be more nutritious than handfuls of chocolate chips and croutons and about the same in energy. It takes admitting that I need to eat those calories/nutrients and just getting over the fear!

Progress involves risk, right?

“If there is no struggle, there is no progress.”

I’m ready for the progress part!

Lunch yesterday was a really unphotogenic chicken and veggie pita: quick and bought on campus.

My snack in the morning was new, but it was yucky, so I had a granola bar instead.

And breakfast was fine but not what I was hungry for.

cottage cheese, apple, kashi, and fibre 1

Andddd there’s my late what i ate post! Better late than never right?

Today’s a long day. I’m at the library enjoying my post swim relaxation. I have an appointment with my dietitian, work at the Gazette, articles to write, a group meeting, presentation, and three hours of class. I’ll be on campus til almost 7 and if you want to argue with me about 5:45am to 6:45pm not being long I’ll convince you otherwise pretty quickly! That laundry is looking less and less likely to get done tonight.

Tomorrow, tomorrow, there’s always tomorrow! 🙂

Also, here’s today’s quote of the day. I think it’s worth sharing:

“Success is often the result of taking a misstep in the right direction.”

Have you tried those cocoa almonds? What’d you think? I’m gonna donate mine…blechhhh!
What’s the last new breakfast recipe you’ve tried?
How do you fuel around your workouts? Trial and error? Advice from someone? Something you read?  

 

18 responses to “Everything I eat looks like…

  1. I love overnight oats they are delicious but don’t always look all that appetizing! 😉

  2. chocolate breakfast: OOIA(old jam)J
    1/2 cup oats (rolled=creamy; steel-cut=chewy/nutty)
    1 cup unsweetened soy beverage
    1 mashed banana
    1/2 tablespoon cocoa powder
    (What would make it richer? more cocoa? cooking it in the morning? adding butter?)

    quick & bought on campus: See the grocery store in the basement. You can build your own sandwich (meat, cheese, loaf of bread, etc.) or ask about their new pre-made lunches to go. (They began making these lunches to go last term. Now that I’m mentioning it a second time, I hope they are still offering it.)

    more chocolate: Perhaps substitute for wrapped candy bars with chocolate chips mixed into trail mix?

    Fueling workouts is trial and error. I usually find myself in error when I eat within the preceding hour. Soon I’ll re-open Tim Ferriss’ 4-Hour Body and read more of his tips.

    • This breakfast sounds pretty good!

      What do you put in your trail mix? I already eat nuts and nut butter, more nuts?! Seems nutty… har har

      • Seeds go well with nuts.

        Usually: no name (R) original trail mix
        peanuts, raisins, sunflower seeds, almonds, cashews, and pumpkin seeds
        plus “vegetable oil (canola and/or sunflower and/or soybean).”

        This week: President’s Choice (R) Deluxe mixed nuts
        cashews, almonds, brazil nuts, pecans, macadamia nuts
        plus “canola and/or soybean oil, sea salt.”
        to which I added raisins.

        I see one macadamia nut remaining. I think I saw at most three brazil nuts in the 1.13 kg package. (One kilogram in three days? Tasty.)

  3. totally know what you mean about post-workout fuel! Sometimes when I come home from the gym and prep breakfast, I eat a shit-ton of grapes, peanut butter, whatever while I’m making my actual meal hah. What helped me was to eat a snack IMMEDIATELY after my workout – like, while I’m stretching and foam rolling. And then I shower, and THEN i eat my meal, and I’m much less antsy-hungry, so I don’t pick as much when I’m cooking haha. I can’t wait to hear what your RD says about it too! And cocoa almonds….yeah I’m with you on that one. Chocolate-covered, yes, cocoa-covered….stay away from me hahaha.

    • She recommended eating in the locker room/car. I think that’s so smart! Then I might actually do my stretching and my foam rolling when I get home (or at the gym if I bring my snack with me). What’s your fav snack to have then? I am thinking about what’s transportable. I used to do chocolate milk in those tetra packs cuz they don’t need refrigerated, but I’d rather EAT something since I am legitimately hungry.

      Chocolate covered almonds are where it’s at. Mmmmm. Dark chocolate almond m and ms. or peanut. I can’t remember. dark chocolate nut m and ms. The shit!

  4. for breakfast i usually have a smoothie with banana, strawberries, soy yogurt and some almond butter! but during winter when its too cold for smoothies i have a salad instead 🙂
    i’ve never had cocoa almonds before! they sound healthier and less calorie dense than chocolate covered almonds though!
    and after working out i have a cup of Vega protein drink.

    • wow…i would love to know what your eating style is…just out of sheer curiosity …sounds different for sure!

      chocolate covered almonds = win 🙂

  5. Sometimes I get a little too concerned about fueling before my workouts and I get super snacky. Same happens afterwards!! I’m looking for a dietician to work with so I can get this issue solved. It’s not fun! I actually really enjoy cocoa almonds, but they pale in comparison to chocolate covered almonds.

    • The brand that I took the pic of? Cuz I didn’t like the taste! They were a little too sweet–like artificial sweetener sweet (and I read the ingredients and was right). I think I could make my own with real cocoa and I might be able to redeem them!

  6. Yay I’m glad you liked those overnight oats!

    I’m the same way after workouts lately – I’m starving! I’ve started waiting longer after a meal/snack before I workout to help it digest better, but that just means I get too hungry while working out. Yesterday I had to cut my workout short so I could rush home to eat haha. 😛

    • LOL! I am not sure why I can justify or accept eating on the bike or during training during the summer but when I am inside I think of it as a different kind of working out I think and it’s hard. I am gonna get over this. I might try adding to my hydration so that I’m taking in some calories while I work out…just something I’m thinking about!

  7. Love the quote. It’s nothing less than SO TRUE. Anyway, everyday I look at your yummy breakfasts and think how good it looks AND how filling it must be but I’m too scared to add such things to my oats! I want to I want to I want to…. and I know that with what I am eating for breakfast I end up starving an hour later….
    Goodnesss mind…let it go….

  8. wow… your last few posts are resonating with me. Only I am not active and I need to gain weight (i need to gain 15-25 lbs). My bedtime snack though is late and is often 500 + cals….and I feel bloated and rottten. And I’ve suddenly taken to binging (whereas I never was like that before)…thiis last few months…but like the last few nights, i binged …and today i “restrict” back…still eating a lot of food…but not as much…and i need to gain, despite the inactivity..
    i actually eat dark chocolate every night…at least 30 grams (1 ounce)…rice cakes and salted cashews are another big thing for me…I just keep going and going. ( i don’t feel guilty for eating dark chocolate…that’s good stuff actually..i feel guilty for eating all the nuts, bread and yogurt alongside it)…
    Hmm…if you are open to chat, send me an email..love to ask you about your RD experiences…I live in Ontario.

    • Do you see an RD? That is the number one thing I suggest to people who tell me they’re struggling. Someone to talk to about it who kind of knows…and can be some authority!

      • What is your RD like? I’m thinking of getting one…for a month anyway. I’d have to pay her. I noticed this one who lives outside of my living location: http://www.beachesnutrition.ca
        thoughts???

        I worry about eeing a RD, cause they might try to push their “lifestyle” (some are big on grains or vegetarian or this or that) + I think a naturopath would help me LOTS more (cause of my poor digestion and body)..BUT a naturopath is super costly and I don’t have time to fool around with trial approaches becasue I just need to gain back health (so…I”m thinking an RD…think it could be okay? what do you think about the dietitian in the link I provided above?. Thanks).

        Love your hair by the way. Love.

      • Thanks for the compliment!

        I’ve never been to a naturopath.

        I’ve been to a few RDs and I find that ones who have experience with E D are the best. I also prefer someone like the lady you’ve found — not in a hospital. That’s just me though. I think what’s most important is how you FEEL with them and the only way to figure that out is to give it a shot and see if you can open up to her. That being said, it takes trusting her and not an E D — really scary, but necessary to make change.

        Really good luck!

Leave a Reply

