Surprising source of motivation

For a long time, I resisted anything to do with Bodyrock or Zuzana. I still have never done one of her workouts, even though Mel, one of my closest tri buddies (and most h-core fellow instructors), raves about them. Bee is blogging about seeing the Bodyrock light over at Bee Goes Bananas. There was always something about the workouts that seemed to…raunchy…for me. I assumed that anything she had to say about eating would also be ridiculous, but I was poking around her site today when I was searching for bootcamp inspiration (another form of not doing homework — yahoo — and I can call it personal development). I came up pretty empty handed on the workout front (mostly because I don’t like to watch vids, so if anyone wants to write out the workouts for me and share, I’m so game! 😉 )…

…but I did get into her Rock Your Diet posts and realized that although I don’t think you need to do what she says you need to (eat veggies at every single meal, earn certain breakfasts, etc.), she does get some stuff right:

  • Eat when you start to feel a little bit hungry. Don’t wait until you are starving – when you are famished you run the risk of overeating and eating too quickly.
  • Take your time eating and enjoy your food.
  • Eat small portions. This weeks challenge will be about portion size control, so if you are unsure about what “small portion” means for you, we will be spending all this coming week going over it. When you finish eating you should feel light and satisfied. If you feel heavy, too full or tired then you have most likely eaten too much. If you give your body too much food, it will start to store it as extra weight.
  • Listen to your body. This expert may tell you this and this diet book may tell you that, but what helped me was getting back in tune with what my body was trying to tell me. I get a little call from my brain every 2-3 hours that I need to eat something because I’m a little bit hungry. If I’m not paying attention I can miss it, so it’s important to develop this basic body awareness. I believe that my body is more than capable of telling me when and how much I should be eating – the trick is learning to listen.

That being said, I’ve intentionally left out a few of her diet challenges that I thought were borderline triggering. I also included this post because I think it’s important to be able to exposed to formerly triggering things and to be able to take them for what their worth. Besides a 6 pack and serious youtube following, this woman has not much to offer (no offence). I’d rather take my nutrition advice from a dietitian or someone who works out like I do–like a triathlete, runner, cyclist, fitness instructor–and not for 12 minutes a day 😉 (I’m teasing).

I do think some of her stuff is good though, so I thought I’d use it as a double opportunity to share it and to reflect on getting to a point where I can see what’s healthy for me to buy into and what’s perhaps not the best. I see similar things with magazines that I read (i.e. Self or Shape or Women’s Health or even sports-focused magazines) and with the media all the time (television, society in general, etc. promoting certain goals or ideals…that might be okay for lots of people but not for me). I think being able to decide what’s healthy for you is KEY, especially if you want to work in the field of fitness or health or if you want to be a blogger, I guess! Comparison traps and assuming that what’s right for other is right for you is a recipe for disaster, in my opinion. Look out for yourselves!

where have you been surprised to find motivation?
have you ever done a Bodyrock workout?
what would you include in a post about tackling emotional eating?
I’m still in the market for bootcamp ideas–help? 

12 responses to “Surprising source of motivation

  1. I totally agree with this!!!! I definitely take my diet and workout cues from women “who work out like I do” – or who work out like I eventually will be. I used to read Women’s Health, Self, Oxygen etc like they were the freaking Bible. Out of habit the other day I was looking for a mag to read so I bought Fitness, and started reading it last night, and realized “wait. these women are trying to lose weight. I’m just trying to stay in my happy place. these women aren’t athletes. this is a 1500cal/day meal plan and I need to eat about TWICE that.”. And I think workouts like BodyRock and the LiveFit trainer have their place, but they’re for women who work out in order to make their body look a certain way (sorry, but its true). I’m not working out to build muscle that just doesn’t do much but look hot, I’m working out to be able to run X miles in X minutes and qualify for X race. Which means as long as my body does that, I’m not too concerned with what it looks like lol. Women like Jamie Eason and Zuzana are absolutely gorgeous and fit and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t care about having a sixpack, but their workouts and diets aren’t for me because “sixpack” is totally NOT my end-goal. Same goes for their diet suggestions – I’m a runner. I need WAY more carbs and obviously WAY more calories than those plans suggest! so it’s just silly for me to read things like their plans and Fitness magazine, cuz they’re so inconsistent with my goals lol. BUT that being said, they do sometimes make good points, like the ones you posted above! I def have a problem with eating before I get ravenous…I always think “but I’m not quite hungry enough!” lol. I guess you have to pick and choose from them! But yeah lets keep doing our athlete workouts and eating enough carbs to freak those women out mmmkay? lol 😛

    • I swear we are the same person sometimes..

      I laughed out loud when you said “eating enough carbs to freak those women out” because it’s so true 🙂 I love being fearless!

      And I LOVE that you’re about something important with your goals and not about something which is in my opinion, vain. I try not to hold back on my blog but I sometimes have to censor myself. When people come to my fitness classes looking to “get a six pack” or to “get a hot body” or “to tone” or that kind of thing I really want to tell them that I can’t help them do that. All I can do is give them a chance to get their sweat on and do some crazy stuff with their bodies. I find it next to impossible to teach muscle conditioning classes: at least bootcamp I can do lots of core work and things that I know help with other activities–I just can’t get into the mindset of lifting for the sake of lifting or for “sculpting” (my personal definition of this would involve something along the lines of vainly pursuing a “hot” body that won’t bring you any real happiness, anyways <– depressing but honest). So spin is my fav by far, and I see myself using the experience I'm getting in fitness instructing to switch over to a coaching role more specifically for endurance sports in the future (and no I swear I'm not just copying you! great minds think alike!).

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. I’ve never done one of those workouts either. They just don’t appeal to me as much as running or spinning or doing weights at the gym. I’m sure they’re super effective though!

    I totally agree about the diet advice from magazines. Sometimes I wonder why I even buy them. I mean, these magazines all seem like they’re targeted at already fit women, but when you read the nutrition articles, they’re all promoting weight loss. It makes no sense. Why aren’t there any good magazines for women who just want to maintain their fitness, not lose weigh? Or maybe those magazines do exist and I just don’t know about them… Anyways, my point is, I definitely don’t take their diet advice without some serious scrutiny to see if it applies to me or not.

    • Great minds think alike! I think you’ve got the perfect mindset for triathlon…just saying!

      I buy SO many magazines and I often get to a point where I wonder why … it’s the same things over and over again. I need to use the recipes I buy them for (or justify buying them for) and to skip over the notion that I should want to lose weight. I never thought about it how you said it – that they claim to target already fit women, but they’re about weight loss. I think it’s cuz ideology is that healthy is to be skinny or skinnier, in particular, but that is so not the case. I wish there was one that was all about being healthy. Chances are if you listen to health advice that’s about being healthy and not about being skinny, you’ll be ideal, right? whatever ideal is for you! 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. I used to be a huge emotional eater (still am sometimes). Now, when i feel those hunger pains I jump on the elliptical for 10-15 minutes and decide if I’m still hungry after my short workout. Most of the time, my hunger subsides and I can move on with my day.

  4. This is a great post Cheryl and one that I can of course relate to! First of all yeah… those bodyrock videos do freak me out a bit too! I remember the first time I saw them, I could easily see the workouts were difficult but I was also scurreddd by the obnoxious amount of vag and boob shots that seemed rather unnecessary. I was literally laughing out loud when I first saw them but then I realized I am quite in the minority in this one. There are so many people who use these! Having said all of that, I do like the workouts and do at least one per week. I just skip through the actual videos in order to see what the moves are.
    I like that she touched on emotional eating though, as it’s something I have done and still do! Food is comforting, at least it feels that way, so falling back onto something that is nice and cozy is simply human nature! I want to stop using food to cope, or stop restricting and controlling food in order to make myself feel better. There are of course other ways!

    • Maybe I’ll give watching videos another go. I have the worst attention span…

      “I want to stop using food to cope, or stop restricting and controlling food in order to make myself feel better.”

      Amen to that! I read your blog so I know you’re getting to that healthy balanced place…:)

  5. I haven’t done bodyrock, if only because it seems so trendy!

    You could always check your city’s Groupon for a boot camp deal…I snagged a full month of in-person bootcamps for like $25 and am looking forward to starting them.

Leave a Reply

