Peanut butter and cookies!

Did you guys know it’s National Peanut Butter Day? I didn’t…but I’d already had peanut butter when someone told me! In honour of the day, I dipped a few carrots in peanut butter before dinner tonight..har har.

I found this article about why peanut butter is good for you (as if anyone needed another reason to eat the stuff). In this history of peanut butter article, I read the average American eats 3 pounds of it yearly. I think I eat more like 3 pounds monthly.

When I google image searched for a picture of carrots and peanut butter, I found this instead:

And somehow found a recipe for Peanut Butter Carrot Cookies…interesting!

A friend of mine, who doesn’t want to be linked to this delicious recipe for some strange unknown reason (she is too humble?) shared her recipe for dessert from the other night. Enjoy!

Better than a hot date cookies (cuz we ate them on a girls night in…clever, no?)

20120124-204558.jpg

Ingredients:
half a block of dates
small oatmeal cookies (homemade or store bought)

Directions:
Cover dates with water in a small pot and bring to a boil over medium heat.
When water boils, mash ’til water is absorbed.
Place a generous spoonful of the mashed dates onto a cookie.
Place the second cookie on top.
Let the cookies sit at room temperature until the oatmeal softens.
Enjoy.

As my anonymous recipe-giver noted, these are best enjoyed with some good company and laughter!

She also included a recipe for chocolate chip rolled oat cookies that I am dying to recreate. I will save that recipe–you know I need to keep you guys coming back for something!

Mmmmmm, cookies.

Would you try the peanut butter carrot cookies?
Did you have peanut butter today?
What’s your fav cookie?

 

5 responses to “Peanut butter and cookies!

  1. I prefer almond butter, but I definitely would try these cookies because I need at least a cookie a day in my life!!…I loveee carrots and almond butter!!
    the hamster is adorable, I always thought they bite if held?!
    I hope you had a great day!
    xoxo!

    • I’m all about the almond butter! I wonder if there’s an almond butter day? If not, I’m going to declare one. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think hamsters do bite. We had a guinea pig and it was always nipping on our hands.

      Thanks for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I feel left out of PB day… I should create a soy nut butter day! ๐Ÿ˜›

    My fave kind of cookie… it depends on when you ask me. If it’s around Christmas, I’d say shortbread. If my mom’s been baking, I’d say her chocolate chip cookies. Otherwise I’d say Dreena Burton’s super charge me cookies – they’re vegan, healthy and freaking delicious!

Leave a Reply

