Grateful

Happy Tuesday, everyone!

Last night was a late night — after some chit chats at yoga and a rainy drive back to London, I pretty much crashed. I did find time to satisfy some SERIOUS chocolate cravings–Cadbury buttons and Praeventia cookies did the trick.

I had an early wakeup call for swimming today. We did some drills and some skill stuff today so I ended up swimming afterwards (I miss cardio, I felt good, and I had plenty of time) and doing about 2300m total. That’s not really long, but it’s longer than I’ve been doing, so I feel pretty accomplished!

pre-swim yogurt and coffee

After swim, Nina and I had breakfast at the library and then parted ways.

20120117-100542.jpg

post-swim almond butter, apple butter, and carrot on an apple cranberry flaxseed bun with an apple

I did some readings, wrote a draft for an assignment that’s due this week (already?! really?!), and now am distracted by Today Show videos, obviously.

You’re probably wondering why the heck my title for this post is grateful. I’m at that point with my hip and with my stinkin’ migraines that I am just glad for a day when I can get in the pool and get a good swim or where I can go to the library and do 50% of the readings I feel like I “should”. There are people who will never be able to afford university, who can’t walk, who are so much worse off than I am. There is absolutely nothing stopping me from doing the MAJORITY of what I want to do, and I will be able to run again (soon, I hope). Missing out on two days because I can’t think straight and had to sleep off my migraines is really miniscule. My sister gave me a little insight when I was worried about driving home (scared that I might get a migraine on the way to the doctor’s): “Think about all the times you’ve driven and haven’t gotten one.” Oh yeah. Think about those 355 days I have a year that are awesome and migraine free…a little perspective.

Now it’s time for me to pack up and head to the Gazette for the afternoon. I’ll be instructing bootcamp this evening, but I’m not sure what they’ll be getting today. Something I can just teach and not do much with, I think! It could be time to break out the cones and whistle…

What’s your favourite bootcamp style workout? Exercise?
Do you have assignments due already?  

2 responses to “Grateful

  1. oh man I really needed to read this right now!! I’m like…trying to get myself to leave the house and go to lab. its raining. i’m really tired. i feel kinda gross. i’m feeling antisocial. I don’t wanna go!! But your right, there are millions of people who would kill to be inmy shoes with all I’ve got. And with the exercising too – after my bout of doing nothing back in december, I’m so thankful to just be able to move and challenge my body in any way.

    And you will totally be able to run again soon! do those stretches/strength stuff, and you’ll be back out there in no time! In the meantime…work on that swimming, the triathlete’s weakest link haha. Are you taking lessons/being coached? That’s awesome youhave someone to work on form and stuff with!!! seriously gonna be a huge advantage for you!

    • Hey! I know you can get there and get into a groove with classes — the first week is so tough, in my mind!

      Yay for being thankful.

      Swimming is going well — I swim with a master’s group. The early morning crazies who love swimming. Some are former swimmers, some are triathletes, some are just randoms looking for some fitness. I really like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

