Taking it one day at a time

So…Saturday was supposed to be a fun fun night out for dinner with some friends, but I got to dinner and noticed that my eyes were feeling funny. I thought maybe it was just the lighting but feared that I was getting another aura/impending migraine. I went to the bathroom and sure enough I couldn’t see straight even in the normal lighting. I called a cab before we could order (so disappointing–I was looking forward to the company, to the food, to a relaxing night) and was in bed by 7pm. I slept til about midnight, woke up and had a sandwich, watched a movie, and slept for another 8 hours. That’s not good.

…two migraines in one week makes for an anxious Cheryl.

Yesterday it took a lot to get me out of my apartment. I feel like I could get one at any time now and the worst would be if I was driving because I can’t see to get home. So, I made the decision to plan a trip to the doctor’s at home today. I can’t teach my spin class anyways because of my hip (wahhhhhhhhhh) so today’s probably the best day for me to go. I also need to get some forms for my financial aid applications from Sarnia so I guess I’m making the most of this.

Since I am kind of down in the dumps–worried about the migraine situation (I JUST had an MRI and all kinds of tests done a few months ago and they found nothing), angry because of my hip (I’ve swam every other day, but without exercise I’m just getting more frustrated and more anxious about Around the Bay and the Hypothermic Half even though logically I know I do not  have to do them if they compromise my health). Reminder: exercise is supposed to make you feel better. On days where it hurts you (i.e. if I ran with this injury or taught spin), it’s not your “quest for health” driving you to do it through pain and to be honest, I’d probably prolong my half-assed workouts when I should just rest and figure out what’s wrong with this hip and deal with it to start fresh, fully into my training.  On days where I have a lot to do — class, a trip home, an appointment with the chiro, a trip to the doctor’s, rifling through things looking for random financial aid documents — especially a lot of stressful things to do, I should give up the pressure that I put on myself to go swim first thing. I was up in the middle of the night and turned off my 5:15am alarm. I’ll be up early to swim tomorrow and today’s going to be big enough as it is.

I started today with breakfast and am DETERMINED to make it to class on time. I am blaming my being late all last week on my hip cuz I kind of hobble up the hill and it slows me down 😦 .

20120116-071532.jpg

The best thing I can do right now is take it one day at a time. Further than that, one class, one hour, one choice at a time. Reminded me:

“It isn’t necessary to know exactly how your ideal life will look; you only have to know what feels better and what feels worse…Begin making choices based on what makes you feel freer and happier, rather than on how you think an ideal life should look. It’s the process of feeling our way toward happiness, not the realization of the Platonic ideal, that creates our best lives.”

Sorry for being such a downer. This week has got to get better!

What are your plans for the week?
Have you ever had a migraine? With an aura? What do you do for them?

2 responses to “Taking it one day at a time

  1. Pain Can Be Fun

    I’m so sorry about your migraine! I’ve never had one, but I’ve heard they are awful. Feel better! 🙂

  2. I hope you start feeling better soon! I get mild migraines every once and a while, and they are not fun. I couldn’t imagine two in one week!

Leave a Reply

