Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try

Or “tri”…

It’s done. I’ve got 201 days and then I will be a half ironman.

The Ironman Calgary 70.3 starts with a 1.9km swim in Ghost Lake (which I think will be chilly) and then goes to a point to point bike ride that is supposed to be just beautiful (and hilly, and 3km longer than the normal 70.3 bike course distances). I’m not sure what the run is like, so I know I’ve got some reading to do to figure out my training.

I am at work at The Gazette but it’s a pretty low key day since we don’t publish ’til Wednesday so I thought I’d fill you in on this pretty big deal and also recap! I made it to class a few minutes late but luckily the prof was locked out of our class so it was not a huge deal.

Breakfast was delicious…but familiar.

By 10am, I was ready for a snack so I snarfed some greek yogurt with walnuts.

Lunch was leftovers. So far I’m sticking to meatless Monday, but we’ll see what happens. Since yesterday was meatless I feel like today I can be flexible.

Now that I feel accomplished for the day, I’m going to get to work on my stuff for Wednesday’s issue. Look out for a spin playlist tonight or tomorrow.

How’s your Monday?
Any big events on your schedule? 

3 responses to “Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try

  1. CONGRATS on registering for the tri!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Aaaah that’s so exciting! I can’t wait to hear all about your training!! 😀 all your monday eats look yummy as well…I fail at meatless monday all the time. I need to have something other than a turkey sandwich for lunch I guess haha.

  2. Ahh that’s awesome that you registered for it! I’m so excited for you! 😀

    No big events on my schedule yet… but I’m thinking of doing a triathalon in Niagara in August! But I’m not sure if I’ll be ready for it, so I’m debating on whether I should just do the try-a-tri instead and mostly just focus on running this summer.

Leave a Reply

