Curry in anything but a hurry

There’s a place on campus called “Curry in a Hurry”, so I most definitely ripped the title for this off of them. No shame.

I based this one on a recipe for Vegetable and Chickpea Curry from Cooking Light. I added pork to mine (I needed to return to my carnivorous ways today) but it could easily be satisfying as a vegetarian meal. I’d add more chickpeas if I wasn’t planning on tossing in some meat.

Curry in anything but a hurry
(Makes 4-6 servings)

Ingredients:
1 tbsp olive oil
5 carrots, cleaned and diced
1 medium cooking onion, diced
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tbsp yellow curry powder
1-2 tsp fresh ginger (peeled and grated or shaved)
1 tsp garlic powder
1 cup diced tomatoes
1 cup vegetable broth
1 pepper, diced
2 cups fresh green beans, cut into pieces
1 sweet potato, peeled and diced
1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 tsp red pepper
dash of salt and pepper
1/2 cup coconut milk
1/2 bag of fresh spinach
4 pork chops, baked, reheated, and diced (optional)
2 cups couscous, prepared

Directions:
In a skillet, heat olive oil. Add carrot and onion, sautéing ’til soft. Add brown sugar, curry powder, ginger, and garlic powder, continuing to heat ’til sugar melts.

Combine carrot mixture with next 8 ingredients in a slow cooker. Cover and heat on high for 6 hours.

Stir in remaining ingredients. When spinach is wilted, add pork (if desired).

Ladle into bowls with couscous.

…this is one recipe I will definitely be making again. Even though the ingredient list seems long, other than the coconut milk, it’s pretty much all stuff I buy on a regular basis. Nothing too fancy. I don’t have a grater so I prepped the ginger with a knife. No worries. I might’ve used fresh garlic in place of the powder if I’d had the patience. I have no problem getting creative, and I really don’t measure much of anything so I’m guessing with most of the amounts. Don’t be scared. It all works out.

How do you figure out serving sizes (for my recipes it’s hard…some days I’m hungrier than others…)? Nutrition students, help a sister out. I figure it doesn’t really matter right now since I’m not putting up any nutrition info!
Do you like curry? Couscous?  

6 responses to “Curry in anything but a hurry

  1. NOM NOM NOM crockpot curry!!!! I wonder if I have a crockpot? Haha my mom probably has one from the 1980s, I should go dig it out and try this! I’m kinda bored with my food lately and curry chicken is one of my fave dishes, but I’ve never tried the spice on anything else! defs gonna test this recipe out 😀 though maybe my carnivorous ways will have me adding chicken or turkey in place of the pork haha.

    • I think my mom’s crockpot was from her and my dad’s wedding (so circa 1977). It was awesome and I needed my own cuz I took hers for a while and she got mad. Mmmmm, I want to shy shrimp next!

  2. Yum this looks fabulous! I wish I had a crockpot – it would be so nice to come home after a long day on campus and have dinner already made!

    I tend to figure out my serving sizes based on the meat/protein in a dish. So if I make a soup with 3 cups of beans, it would be about 4 servings since one serving of beans = 3/4 of a cup.

    • Mine was only 20 and it’s a decent size (and as you can see it has the pattern on it so I think it could have been even cheaper). 🙂 Good investment.

      Thanks for the tip about serving sizes! That makes perfect sense.

  3. Pingback: Climbs, curry, and celebratory chocolate « eatplayluvblog

Leave a Reply

