Home sweet home

Things I forgot I loved about London:

  • how nice campus is when it’s quiet
  • the fact that there are 109120912 Starbucks
  • my gym here
  • Remark
  • my own fridge and kitchen
  • my shower
Simple pleasures, eh?
I’m back at my place, trying to get settled and clean sweep my apartment. I brought back a TON of stuff that I’d accumulated at my mom’s place (not all from Santa, do NOT worry about figuring out the logistics of how he fit my boxing day vacuum down the chimney).
20111227-193033.jpg
Naturally, I started in the kitchen, with breakfast.
20111227-193037.jpg

PC Blueberry Greek Yogurt, Kashi and Fibre 1, and dried cranberries

First order of business was cleaning out my cans. This is called making a mess for the hell of it, and I recommend doing it once in a while.20111227-193042.jpg

I found some cans to donate, some to toss, and some that need eating (who knew I had a jar of roasted red peppers down there?! Or butternut squash soup?!)…instant meal ideas!

Eventually, the mess got to me! I did get my new appliances put away (the blender is out and looks perfect with my coffee pot and toaster, the crock pot is tucked away in a clean cupboard), but I still needed to get out so I headed to Timmies for lunch before the grocery store. I ate my morning snack (apple and peanut butter) in the mess but it was not really the best eating environment!

20111227-193054.jpg

I restocked my fridge with plenty of veggies from Remark and got some more things put away. My living room is still a disaster (and I’ve got plans to work on my closet tomorrow, so the bedroom is next), but I took another break to have a snack (granola bar) and head to the gym.

I did my 8x8x8 workout, starting with what was meant to be 8 “laps” (haha, or 2 miles, or me running til I felt warm) on the treadmill. Then came 8 sets of 8 reps each of pushups/bent over rows/bicep curls/clean and press/dead lifts/back squats/reverse lunges/burpees with a 30 pound barbell. Last time I used a 25 and by round 5 I wanted to quit…I just kind of grunted (lovely) through it and got it done! I was ready to go home after though…so I did!

20111227-193059.jpg

I was surprised that Ed didn’t get to me. Cuz I was probably at the gym half the time I have been in the past, especially when there’s been cookies in my diet the last few days. So this is definitely a victory, and I came home and got a little bit more creative in the kitchen. I have two spaghetti squashes so I decided to dig into them. Dinner was quick and so good.

20111227-193112.jpg

Spaghetti squash, salmon, spinach, and parmesan cheese (also threw on some margarine and salt and pepper)!

Now I’m satisfying my chocolate cravings with a hot chocolate (clue that I was in the mood – handfuls of chocolate chips when I walked in the door).It’s snowing outside which seems like the perfect excuse to cozy up and watch a movie. Bring on the flannel. First I’ve got some pictures to print. See if you can guess where this is headed…

Noooo, not to A Walk to Remember.Β 

…but you are allowed to love that.

I’m getting my extensions removed tomorrow and I have this strange feeling that my hair is pretty much…gone. 😦 As much as I want long hair, I’m getting myself ready for the possibility that I might have to go short to “start fresh”.

Stay tuned for a “WHAT THE HECK DID I DO?!” or a “LOOK AT ME NOW!” post tomorrow…

Have you ever tried spaghetti squash?
How do you feel about short hair?Β 

 

8 responses to “Home sweet home

  1. Spaghetti squash is my favourite food right now. I love love love it. I eat it plain with just some margarine & salt. If it didn’t take forever to cook in the oven (maybe I should try to microwave it one day) I would eat it so much more often. Right now I am eating at least one a week!

    • I’ve never baked one, to be honest! I always cut it in half (or just put tons of big holes to avoid a squash explosion) and microwave it. Less than ten minutes! I saw on the sticker it says you can microwave it for a bit (with the holes in it, of course), and THEN bake it! That would at least save some time, right? πŸ™‚

      • Had my squash today.. Didn’t nuke it.. But now that I have only half left I might try nuking it!! Just can’t get enough of it!

      • Have you tried it cold? I was thinking it might be good!

      • Cold as in raw? I have not tried it cold/raw.. It probably DOES taste just as good!

        I did microwave the other half of my squash today! Checked it after 15 minutes & it was already done!! I can’t believe I waited so long to microwave it! They taste just as good & so much faster!!

      • Not raw! I think you’d microwave it or bake it and then use the leftovers from the fridge cold!

        I tried it in chili in one of my foods labs last year, and was surprised at how good it was. πŸ™‚

        Glad you like the microwave method.

  2. Are you back in London for the rest of the break now? That must be nice! I’m missing my fridge and being able to cook all my own food too. It’s frustrating how my family’s and my food preferences don’t always align! πŸ˜›

    Aww I love A Walk to Remember! So cheesy, but so good. πŸ˜€ I’m not brave enough to cut my hair short, but I like the look of it. I’m sure it’ll look great on you!

    • I cut it a little short last year…because teachers kept getting me mixed up with Muriel (don’t know if you know her) and Meg (know you know her). I figured if those two cuties could rock awesome short cuts, so could I. But this time…I went for it!

      I am in London at least for most of the break. I’ve got my grad school applications and this clean sweep to keep me busy! I do think I’ll go home for New Year’s to stay at a friend’s though! πŸ™‚

      Hope things are still happy at home for you!

Leave a Reply

