My turn, my turn!

Nooo I’m not arguing with my sister over who gets to open their stocking first…but we will do that tomorrow! 🙂 I think it’s about time I get on this holiday survey bandwagon!

25 Questions: Holiday Style

  • Eggnog or hot chocolate?

Since I’ve yet to try eggnog…EGGNOG! Live on the edge, right?

This is in my fridge:

 …does it count?

  • Does Santa wrap presents or just sit them under the tree?
He wraps them, but I’ve been known to wrap them in exchange for dinners, etc. (Last night I was busy wrapping up some family friend’s stuff in exchange for a delicious dinner and some much needed quality time!).
  • Colored lights on tree/house or white?

Coloured lights are cute — I think I’ll have them SOMEWHERE when I’m older, probably outside, but white lights are CLASSIC! Love.

  • Do you hang mistletoe?

I wouldn’t know mistletoe if I was standing under it with Justin Bieber.

  • When do you hang your decorations up?

Thanksgiving (American Thanksgiving, that is) weekend. I’d love to do it on November 1, but it’s not socially excepted!

  • What is your favorite holiday dish (excluding dessert)?
I love scalloped potatoes, when my dad would make them in this HUGE bowl that would inevitably spill over and make our oven stinky for weeks. So much cheese.
  • Favorite holiday memory as a child?

My sister and I would put on a “Christmas Pageant” for my mom, grandma, and dad. We sang, danced, played our violins, and read “The Night Before Christmas”. If only I had videos…NOT!

  • What is on your Christmas wish list?

A blender to make more green monsters. A crock pot to make good on my goals to cook more. Cookbooks! And running gear!

  • Do you open a gifts on Christmas Eve?

NEVER!

  • How do you decorate your Christmas tree?

My mom has mostly ornaments that she bought this year since we lost a lot when we moved/our basement flooded. When I’m older I want a rustic tree…think log cabin, moose, reindeer, etc. with red and green and gold (and coloured lights ;)) with sentimental ornaments and maybe popcorn garland! 🙂

  • Snow? Love it or dread it?

Kind of love it, but that’s cuz we don’t have it right now. It can all melt on January 2 in my mind and actually I don’t miss it…I’m off for a winter run in 5 minutes and I’m not missing it right now, that’s for sure! But come tomorrow, I will!

  • Real tree or fake tree?

Fake all the way.

  • Do you remember your favorite gift?

Hmmmm, not really! I was a spoiled brat. I do remember opening the TV that I STILL have because it was taller than me. I think I was 6. It’s so old.

  • What’s the most important thing about Christmas for you?

Cookies. Naturally. 😉   … jk! Seeing everyone.

  • What is your favorite holiday dessert?
No bake cookies! So easy too.
  • What is your favorite tradition?

Baking a ton of stuff and dropping it off at people’s houses. 🙂 I like to be Santa.

  • What tops your tree?
Nada, this year. We are having difficulties but I’m determined to get that star up there today!
  • Do you prefer giving or receiving?

Love to get them, but love to wrap and present them too!! 🙂 Tossup.

  • What is your favorite Christmas song?

Christmas Canon…

  • Candy canes, yuck or yum?
So long as they’re not minty. Cherry, bring it on!
  • Favorite Christmas movie?

Christmas Vacation OR Elf!

  • What do you leave for Santa?

Cookies for Santa, with some milk, of course! Maybe a note.

  • Do you have a Christmas morning tradition?

Not now, but my sister and I used to wake up early and on the half hour bug my parents to get up but they wouldn’t til at least 8! Then we’d make Pilsbury cinnamon rolls.

  • Do you prefer to shop on-line or at the mall?

At the mall! There’s not that people watching, fun aspect of online shopping…it doesn’t count as retail therapy!

  • Christmas letter or Christmas card?

I’m trying out the Christmas letter via email this year…it’s more what everyone else prefers!

 

MERRY CHRISTMAS! I’m late for my run…stay tuned for a bake-fest post tonight. 🙂

5 responses to “My turn, my turn!

  1. Try an eggnog latte! Pretty sure you can have the espresso made in decaf.. I am going to get my first one of the season today (and probably the only one for the season.. till next year!)

    Merry Christmas!

  2. I’ve never tried egg nog either! You’ll have to let me know how that So Nice stuff is.

    My sister and I always used to get up super early and bug our parents to wake up too. Actually, we still do it. Last Christmas we were up at 6 am haha! 😛

    Have a great Christmas girl! 🙂

    • I’m gonna give my mom a break this year and tryyyyyy to sleep in OR go for a run while she sleeps! My dad’s in Calgary with his fiancé, so he’s safe! 🙂 Have fun! If this year’s a repeat from last year you’re probably getting your beauty sleep now so you can be up at the crack of dawn. Merry Christmas 🙂

  3. My eggnog latte was delicious!! Since it was the holiday season I also added some gingerbread syrup.. It was fantastic!

    It is just crazy-stupid that the amount of calories/fat in a TALL eggnog latte are equivalent to a complete meal. Sigh! I contemplate having another one this Saturday but my body is screaming for ice cream..

    BTW.. I am working on losing weight & have about 30 lbs or so before I reach my goal (lost 60 so far) – I tend to treat myself to one big ticket item a week.. I have a weakness for chocolate, so I indulge in that several times a week but I am getting better at controlling my portions with 2 pieces a day. Although some days are tough & I wind up eating more..

    It is tough trying to reach a “happy” weight.

Leave a Reply

