Out of my element

Home sweet home is not my normal home sweet home.

That means different foods, different people, different workouts, different challenges (i.e. where can I study with no desk?!), but what I realized is that I am up for the challenge, even if Ed isn’t!

After last night’s indulgence, I really expected to wake up feeling worse.

Luckily I came across this no crap kind of straight talk post from Nancy Clark about how it’s important to eat healthy when you can so you can enjoy indulgences. Hence the uber healthy green monster smoothie vs. the cake yesterday…BALANCE!

Besides a little groggy, I felt good this morning. I had a sweet breakfast (Kashi GoLean Crisp, which is very sweet, some tart fresh cranberries, Fibre 1 cereal, and vanilla soy milk) and then went to my old gym.

20111219-123446.jpg

I had heard good things about the spin classes at Sharky’s so I was excited to try one, and I wanted to test out my new running shoes on the treadmill. I did both! 1 mile just to see how they feel (good, but my legs are a little tired from yesterday) and then a spin class that was probably only 30 minutes but one of those work hard while you’re here and you won’t mind doing half the time you’re used to kind of workouts. With drills and tons of sweat, I’m a happy camper.

I came home and snarfed an apple with almond butter that I definitely meant to take a picture of (but you’ve seen it before) but apparently was too hungry to actually get a photo of!

I attempted to study but spent the last hour and half getting organized, painting my nails (red for christmas!), and getting hungry instead. So now it’s time for lunch…I’m microwaving a sweet potato to have with my leftover turkey breast as we speak.

I’m going to get down to business this afternoon and then reward myself with a  yoga class! Luckily it’s a later one, so I can get TONS of studying in. I think I’m heading back to London so I can be back in my element (read: at my desk, my starbucks, etc.) to get a good day’s cram session in.

Wish me luck!

Where’s your favourite place to study?
Do you like Kashi foods? 

4 responses to “Out of my element

  1. LOVE KASHI!

    So happy to hear you had a good workout chickie poo 🙂 YAY! Yoga sounds good for tonight, too! I really wish I could give you a big old hug before I leave ❤ Love you! You are going to rockkkkk your exams!

  2. I’m obsessed with Kashi Honey Almond Flax! I seriously go through a box a week! I’ve never tried the GoLean Crisp flavour though. I’ll have to try it. 😀

    Good luck with studying!

    • 🙂

      I am picky picky though and will only eat the American version of Kashi GoLean Crunch. It’s got entirely different texture, different nutritional info (less important to me now), and just tastes like the stuff I was always used to!

      I love their granola bars and all the things I’ve tried (oatmeal, frozen dinners, etc.) from the states have been pretty decent, except a few that were just too chewy. Cardboard, no, but not delish either!

Leave a Reply

