Back to reality

Back to reality London (and what I HOPED would inspire studying).

Before heading to Coffee Lodge to study this afternoon, I made myself a quick lunch (turkey, sweet potato salad with maple syrup/olive oil).

20111219-220507.jpg

I was pretty productive but seriously don’t feel motivated to study when there is so much CHRISTMAS around. I’m looking forward to time off and reminding myself that the to-dos I want to accomplish over the break are going to get done even if I don’t start them til the new year!

When I’d had enough studying, I made a trip to the UPS store and shipped my family’s gifts. It cost almost as much as the gifts themselves (just kidding, but it was pricey and not guaranteed to get there by Christmas! eek!). Note to self: order offline and ship directly in their direction?

I also checked another task off my to do list, and this one I’m excited about…

In 96 days, I’ll be running 30km! JOIN ME! Don’t wait to register because the price goes up on January 1! There are plenty of other reasons, which you can check out in my latest article on Runners Feed –> 6 Reasons Why You Should Register Early.

…seriously, get on it. You can train with me and Lauren, a fellow blogger you might’ve checked out before. She’s got a marathon under her belt so I feel lucky to have an experienced friend to do some long runs with! I think I need to find a group around London to run with–too bad I’m not in Sarnia because there are TONS of friendly runners there! I’ve got lots of runner friends here, so let’s make our schedule work! Impromptu running group organized by moi? Could happen…

I had a quick dinner because there was yoga on my schedule tonight: a very unphotogenic combo of Blue Menu Chili and PC Blue Menu Light Cheddar Cheese. It was delicious, but I’m going to spare you the ugly picture.

The power yoga class was at Agoya again with my favourite instructor in the entire whole wide world (and she doesn’t even read this blog, so no I’m not sucking up!). As always, I left the class feeling amazing and challenged myself/fell on my face/laughed (because what’s the point if it’s not fun?). How often do you get to go upside down? I’d argue it should be every day! Gosh I wish I had more yoga in my life! I feel a New Year’s Resolution coming on! It’s a reminder that your body can do amazing things. Right now I have strength that I never had last year. I may be inflexible and things may be tough because I’ve been out of yoga, but I think if I get into a steady/regular practice I’m going to find my body is capable of different things now, and another bonus is that I don’t find certain poses (happy baby, anything really laying on my back) uncomfortable now that there’s some padding over my spine. Sure, I look down and see a belly every once in a while and have a moment of “ew” but then I remember that no matter what, there are folds of skin when you bend over and that I am so much better off than I was when my practice was distracted, for lack of a better way of describing it. Rather than feeling guilty for doing something besides cardio or a circuit or whatever and wondering if I am burning enough calories, I am getting into the class, noticing how it feels and actually letting myself experience it. Bliss.

When I left Sarnia I picked up a decaf coffee for the road. Old habit of adding cream and a butter caramel shot…came back. Oh well. It was delicious, especially with the also unpretty Kashi bar I gobbled up before I hit the road.

When I got to London, I cleaned up my apartment and got settled, foam rolled, snuck some chocolate (I notice I tend to get picking at things when I am stressed/moving around, etc.) and then told myself I didn’t have to beat myself up to have an excuse not to study and that a hot chocolate would be a good way to slow myself down and still enjoy something sweet. I also took comfort from a note Bonnie put on my birthday gift yesterday (perfect is an understatement):

20111219-220513.jpg
Consider me comforted.

The Santa Clause is on TV–love! Excuse to go to bed on my futon right now? Taken! ย Tomorrow’s forecast is mostly studying with a run and maybe a trip to the mall as breaks. C’monnnnn Wednesday at 5pm!

Do you run with a group?
What’s your favourite kind of yoga?
Have you ever run Around the Bay? A marathon? Half?ย 

7 responses to “Back to reality

  1. I wish I could run long distances and I really wish I could train for this run with you! But considering I haven’t run a single official race, I think I should start out slow. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • No way girl! You and I can run together even if we’re not doing that race. How about one of my longer runs where I really could care less how fast we go we meet up? I could run to you, you could join me, and then I could run back. It will all work out! I have done that before with other friends who are convinced they can’t “keep up” or aren’t runners. News flash: I don’t care very much at all about speed! I’d rather have fun, and company! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Darling! It was a joy to have you in class again. You were amazing(as usual). Come back soon!

  3. Woohoo congrats on signing up for the race! I would join you… but I haven’t even run an official 5k race yet, let alone a 30k race. So I think I need to start with baby steps. ๐Ÿ˜› I’m so excited for you about this race though!

    Haha I totally watched The Santa Clause on tv last night too! It’s one of my favourites. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Good luck studying today!

  4. Yay! So excited for ATB!

Leave a Reply

