23

It’s my birthday, and I’ll blog how I want to…about GOALS!

Since 23 is kind of anti-climatic, I need to make it interesting. So here it comes….

  • I’m going into this year with BIG THINGS in mind. BIG BIG BIG. Why? Because I want to be happy and the only way I am happy is if I’m striving for stuff! When I get bored…that’s when things suck. When I feel like I’m working towards something…that’s when I find my zone.

“If you want to be happy, set a goal that commands your thoughts, liberates your energy, and inspired your hopes.” -Andrew Carnegie

  • I’m going to KEEP setting them. So some of them might be smaller goals to start off with, and that’s fine because when I cross them off I will add one immediately so I don’t get complacent.

If you are bored with life, if you don’t get up every morning with a burning desire to do things–you don’t have enough goals.” –Lou Holtz

  • Looking back on this year, I can see 22 was a HUGE year for me. I’d just started to really get into touch with who I wanted to be this time last year, and though it’s always shifting, I think I’m getting there. That means I can set goals that really push me to be that person!

You want to set a goal that is big enough that in the process of achieving it you become someone worth becoming.” -Jim Rohn

  • I will aim for big things. I’m already starting to go big or go home (i.e. setting my sights on Columbia, but I think doing so more often is important. When I worked at lulu, they said you were supposed to feel like you were going to puke when you read your goals. Also that 50% of them you shouldn’t end up achieving. Guess perfectionism is a no go, eh?

Everything you want is just outside your comfort zone.” –Robert Allen

The greater danger for most of us is not that our aim is too high and we mis sit, but that it is too low and we reach it.” -Michelangelo

  • My goals will NOT  be fear based or revolve around what I want to avoid (past mistakes, etc.). Instead, they’ll reflect the things I’ve come to realize without being consumed with avoiding making the same mistakes again (because why would I do that?).

Create your future from your future, not your past.” –Werner Ehard

Here goes!
1) Get into grad school for Journalism, or at least try my hardest and try try again if it doesn’t happen.
2) Graduate from Western with a BA Honors Spec in Kin (this is a given) and a Writing Certificate (this is going to take some work).
3) Pitch a story to a magazine or website every single week (remember that comment about wanting to puke?). Hope that at least one gets picked up so it’s worth it, or look at it as part of learning to deal with rejection!
4) Start making video blogs! Inspired by “Ask a Monican” at Run Eat Repeat.
5) Organize my blog, giving it menus (recipes, workouts, inspirational links, etc.) and setting up a separate email to be associated with it.
7) Run a sub 1:45 half marathon (improvement of just under 1 minute and 30 seconds from my first half this fall!)
8) Run a trail race.
9) Do the 24 hour bike ride in Michigan in June (hardest part? convincing my friends).
10) Run a sub 45 minute 10k. (PR was 0:46:52.70 in October ’10).
11) Bike across the country.
12) Go on an NOLS trip. Perhaps get my Wilderness First Aid cert and have a 1212198th backup plan for my life.
13) Get a boyfriend. Love is in the air. ha-ha. I know, you can’t hurry love. Whatever, Supremes.
14) Run Around the Bay…which means I get to be a runner!
15) Get my period. (Wow, you guys appreciate honesty, right?)
16) Find my happy weight and decide if that’s a number (not likely) or a feeling and how I know.
17) Give a speech about eating disorder recovery.
18) Make 5 people sign up for their first road race. (Anyone interested in having me chase them through one? I’m a lot of fun, ya know!)
19) Do a headstand in yoga…without the wall.
20) Do five pull-ups in a row.
21) Go to a hot yoga class in a bra and shorts (aka come to terms with my “tummy”).
22) Learn how to cross country ski.
23) Go meatless on Mondays.
7 responses to “23

  1. I love hearing about your goal! They inspire me to think of goals I need to set for myself for 2012. One of my top ones is to run an official race, even if it is a 5k. I’ve never done one before!

    And YAY to the Healthy Living Summit! I’m totally coming with you. I wish they would announce where it will be held in 2012. I think that will dictate whether or not I can go!

    • THANK YOU! And if you want a buddy to run that race with, I am so there!

      Cannot wait for HLS 2012. And we can save money regardless of where it is by rooming together and splitting travelling costs, etc. so I think it will be able to happen if it’s financial issues we are concerned with. I have faith. 🙂 Get excited!

  2. Love this! I feel like I say that about all of your posts, but it’s always true! 😀 Your list of goals is amazing. I really like what you said about how your goals should make you want to puke. I’ve never thought of it that way before. I think I always set my goals too easy. 😛

    Ahh I’m totally going to go to HLS 2012 too! We should all try to organize travel/hotels together!!!

  3. LOVE LOVE LOVE your goals 😀

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY MY LOVE! I can’t wait to make crafts with you ❤

  4. Pingback: Birthday beginnings | Happy is the new healthy

Leave a Reply

