…you never mentioned an award!

So, I am HONOURED that Meg chose me as a Versatile Blogger!

What’s it mean? I get to rant about myself–and what blogger wouldn’t love that?!

So, here goes…7 things you didn’t know about me! (Warning, if you thought I was random, delusional, or crazy before…it might get worse).

1. I couldn’t run the mile run in Grade 9 gym class.

I think I did less than 3/4 of a mile in the 12 minutes we had to finish it. I didn’t take gym after the mandatory class…surprise, surprise. Sometimes I joke that the only time I’d run was when there was a cake on the line.

…how far I’ve come! I can remember the first time I “went for a run”. I was in tenth grade (Spring 2005) and it wasn’t pretty, it didn’t feel good, but I was pissed off and determined, and I think it took about 2 months for me to jump on the running bandwagon with my first 10km race that summer. I think it took me about 1:04 to do it and though I didn’t really race again ’til a summer or two ago, I’ve always wished I was a runner and have always run here and there.

Even with all my stinky injuries (which are minor and just frustrating, so I’m LUCKY), I don’t intend to stop. It might be frustrating, but it’s worth it!

NOW you get why the half marathon was SABD (such a big deal, a la NBD and yes, I totally made that up).

2. My mom’s personal trainer predicted that I’d be a gym rat some day and I laughed. 

He was right!

Somehow I ended up in this fitness world with a buttload of certification and a whole lot of passion for teaching.

It all started with the apprenticeship program to become a fitness instructor at the Western gym. I got my YMCA fitness instructor certification there, then switched over to CanfitPro. Next came my Reebok cycling certification, which wasn’t enough! I added Spinning certification and then got my CanfitPro personal trainer certification, my CPTN cert through a kin course in my program, and finally started my YogaFit cert! Ta-dah! To be honest, I only keep the CanfitPro one current. If I’ve learned one thing in this industry, it’s that lots of people want your money (recerts, etc.) OR that experience and who you know/how people like your classes will get your farthest!

So if you came to my bootcamp, you were in good hands. If I’m not your fav instructor, what’s wrong with you? I can do it all. Just kidding. Some silly people chose me as their fitness instructor of the year last year, so I let it all go to my head.

I have lived at the gym, been confused about whether or not I even like it, and come to a place where I really think fitness is part of who I am! Let’s get sweaty.

3. I love piercings and tattoos.

I set off metal detectors. Just kidding, but I do have 5 holes in one ear and 3 in the other. I’ve got my bellybutton done, my nose pierced, and a more exciting monroe and right now I have 1.5 microdermals in my chest that I WISH would stay in because it hurts like a you know what to get done.

I have three tattoos, or five depending on how you look at it. I got the first group when I was 16 and I don’t love them. I almost got them covered with a giant magnolia one instead, but I think I might regret that some day, so I’m giving it time (so far I’ve had the idea for three years and it’s going strong…). I have a sun on my wrist that looks like henna, and this one on my foot…

…which was supposed to be brown. Whatever, it’s only with me for life, right?

Next up, I’ve got big plans for my left butt cheek, but that’s a secret.

4. I think I was born in the wrong century.

I’ve heard people say they think they were born in the wrong decade (largely cuz they like the music of the 70s or something like that), but I legitimately know that I belong in the 1800s in a covered wagon. Seriously.

It might have had something to do with all the “Dear America” and “Dear Canada” books I read growing up. They’re historical diaries, if you were wondering, and all of a sudden I’m realizing my memoir addiction DIDN’T start with Eat, Play, Love and that my blog is named after something less integral in my personality and blah blah blah…

Or with the endless hours I spent on the computer playing Oregon Trail.

5. I am a music nerd. 

I started playing the violin when I was 7 (because my sister did) and had big plans to come to Western for music, NOT kin! I’m at Grade 8 level for violin and sometimes I think if I get sick of being a trainer and can’t get a job as a journalist, I’ll finish up and be a music teacher instead!

I was a band geek, but everyone knows band geeks are the cool kids. First I learned how to play the flute, then decided it was too girly (?) and switched to trombone in high school. Everyone knows BRASS is where it’s at.

I also took guitar lessons and piano lessons for a while. I tried desperately to learn trumpet BUT couldn’t. Fail. Every once in a while (especially at Christmas), I unleash my inner band geek.

Now that you know I’m a violin junkie, I can segue to my next point…

6. I LOVE KALAN PORTER.

A seasonal treat…

When it was the finale of Canadian Idol and I needed to vote for Kalan, I remember my thumbs being sore from hitting redial SO many times. When he won, I cried.

When he came to Sarnia, I lined up (with my mom and a coworker of her’s and her own daughter) in the SNOW in the middle of the night to get tickets. We were FREEZING, SOAKING WET, BUT WE GOT TICKETS! The show was great!

We got lucky and got tickets ONLINE for another show the NEXT week in London.

I saw him again at Bayfest that summer.

Years later when he started to fall off the face of the earth lots of other people had forgot about him, my mom and I took a trip to Toronto to see him. All my dreams came true.

Last year, my friend showed me a picture she took of him on her blackberry. No big deal that she stayed at his parents’ house and hung out with him on a regular basis. I STILL DON’T BELIEVE IT.

7. I’m planning something big for next summer.

Some people go to Europe and backpack to mark the end of their undergrad. Great! I don’t wanna.

I’m thinking of:

a) getting a sweet internship somewhere

b) throwing myself into the wilderness for a month or so (see 4), with the supervision of NOLS or maybe Outward Bound…and hoping the bears don’t eat me!

c) biking across the continent (ripped this one off of the interview I did for Canadian Cycling Magazine)

And, now that you’ve scrolled all the way down to the bottom without reading because you’re bored you know more than you ever wanted to, it’s time for me to pass the torch:

I nominate…

Can’t wait to read your posts!

Did you learn something about me?
What’s the one thing no one would ever guess about you?
Whatdya think?! 

2 responses to “…you never mentioned an award!

  1. I couldn’t run in 9th grade either! Or 10th.. or 11th… I didn’t start running til second year of university. But I never would have guessed that you didn’t just pop out of your mom’s womb wearing Saucony’s and ready to run baby’s first marathon haha. That’s amazing that you’ve gotten to where you are today! You should be really proud girl. 🙂 That gives me hope that I’ll be able to do a half marathon some day!

Leave a Reply

