Gimme a break…or three.

Today is dedicated to studying, taking fun breaks, and getting myself in a better mental place than I was yesterday.

I started my day with breakfast and made sure to be aware of how badly I wanted to eat extra cereal and extra peanut butter. I’m not going to lie and say I didn’t have a little extra, but a little is an improvement from what I’ve been doing later SO it’s a victory in my mind…

All Bran, Kashi, banana, and peanut butter

I got a little studying done this morning before I headed for my long run. I went to the gym today (even though it’s sunny out) because I’m still a little freaked out about the creeper who followed me last weekend on my run. I need running buddies BADLY, London folks!

The run felt good…Β don’t mind running on a treadmill, especially because I could run steady and slow-ish and read a magazine. My earbuds fall out of my sweaty ears (what’s a good brand that you would recommend?) so I don’t usually have tunes after I get going! Oh well. My shin hurt a little this morning but when I started on the treadmill I made sure I listened to it and it didn’t bother me so I went for it. I had five miles on my training plan (it’s rough) for the half marathon in February, so five miles I did (plus warmup and cool down).

Afterwards, I attempted to do abs (but realized how tired I was after) so settled on 3 sets of pushups, crunches, and oblique twists using a med ball that just so happened to match my outfit.

20111211-141108.jpg

I mostly stretched and laid around on that mat. I noticed a hole in my lulu run: inspire crops (Santa, replace them?). I was a little mad but then I remembered I have another pair so these can be my “crappy” ones that I wear when I run on the trails (I always worry about snagging them on branches, etc.) or stuff like that!

20111211-141102.jpg

When I got home, I had lunch (even before I showered), trying to act on that whole eat before I’m starving thing. Again, I did better with the not eating while I was getting stuff ready. I made a chicken sandwich with chicken and some cheese, tomatoes, lettuce, mayo, and mustard! Yummy.

Now I’m at Starbucks taking a break. They had no sugar free mocha so I went with a decaf coffee with two pumps of pumpkin spice (my fall fav) and added some milk (trying to make the switch from cream…eek!).

I read all the old material that’s on the cumulative part of my exam and am going to dive into the three new units that will be tested more in-depth. I’ve got readings to get through too, so I’m telling myself if I work for the next 2.5 hours I can sneak into Winners before it closes! A little retail therapy plus cooking dinner (I’ve got options, so I think there’s a yummy looking blog post in the future) will be my next break and tonight I plan on reading over my lecture notes for stuff til I go to bed! I’m going to get to bed early rather than try to cram stuff in. What’s done is done and with a 9am exam time, I know I’ll do a better job if I’m well rested.

What are you up to this Sunday?
What kind of ear buds do you run with?
This will sound weird but I have two different ears and every kind I’ve tried is good for one but not the other. Fail.
What’s your favourite Sunday dinner?

9 responses to “Gimme a break…or three.

  1. Hey girl! Like you, I’m studying πŸ™‚ I’m being lazy though and staying at home with my own-brewed Starbucks (Christmas blend of course!). In terms of ear buds, I run with O’Neil’s speckled ($40ish at Best Buy). They fit very well in my teeny tiny ears and they have a tangle free cored which I treat like absolute shit and they’ve lasted. Let’s put this into some prospective: I’ve spent over $200 in the past 8 months on headphone alone. Hope studying goes well and good luck on finals!!!

  2. I LOVE Scullcandy ear buds, the ones that go right inside your ear. They have great sound, aren’t that expensive and have different sized attachments to fit your ears!

  3. I am studying too (but at home)! πŸ™‚ I have an exam tomorrow at 9:00 am toooooo! hahahahaha. So, last night – I tried to fb you my cell #, but then my wireless wouldn’t let me on :s I tried to DM you over Twitter, but that NEVER works for me :s maybe I am doing something wrong??

    Your lunch looks so good πŸ™‚ I have had tasty meals today, too πŸ™‚ For supper I am cooking something NEW out of a COOKBOOK! I neverrrrrrr use cook books, so it’s going to be fun πŸ™‚

    • Hey! I’ll try sending MINE to you! πŸ™‚

      I didn’t make the SOUP I was planning to but I did make a big yummy salad that I’ve not tried before. You’ll see…hope your culinary creation is coming along well.

  4. yay for study breaks! Also, my ear phones fall out when i get sweaty too… I’ve yet to tackle that issue. I’m thinking about trying the ones that go around your ear!

  5. I’ll be your running buddy! Except a) I hate running in cold weather and b) I rarely run longer than 4.5 miles. So, uhh, maybe I’m not the best choice. But if we get a freakishly warm day soon and you want company for a few miles of your run, I’ll totally join you! πŸ˜€

    Also, how do you read while you run?! I wish I could do that – it would make my treadmill runs a million times better. Especially since the UWO gym tvs are set to such boring channels (and the sound doesn’t always work!).

    Good luck on your exam tomorrow!

    • Sounds like a perfect plan, because I don’t like the treadmill all that much and I hate the cold. So maybe a sunny Sunday afternoon jog every once in a while? I LOVE having company on runs! I hope my shin feels better!

      I could NEVER read something in-depth while I run. I read magazines–and by read I mean mostly look at the pictures, and save the features for later!

      Ohhhh campus rec. Hmmph.

      GOOD LUCK TO YOU TO!

Leave a Reply

