Monday Fun-day

Back to reality…is an understatement!

I woke up this morning just in time to get to class…late. Surprise, surprise. Oh well! I’m lucky enough to have  a friend in my first class of the week so she hooked me up with last week’s stuff (she’s an angel and deserves something amazing…or yummy!).

I had time to do a little research I’ve been meaning to do (what’s a minor in writing require at Western? what’re some of the programs I’ve heard about–Broadcast Journalism at the New York Film Academy  and Master of Arts in Media Studies at The New School –just enough to get me excited. I added them to my list of things to look into over the break…along with the grad school essays and portfolios for Canadian schools I’ve decided can wait til after my exams get going (they’re due on January 15).

My Columbia application is starting to really stress me out. I am scared to write the essays because I want them to be uber special. I also  need to choose my best three pieces of work to submit as my samples–I think I’ve got 2/3 ready to go. I know I’m so stressed because it means so much to me–I loved the school!

With so many things going on in my mind, it’s no wonder I was distracted in my other class and at the Gazette today. It was good to be back and I’m definitely getting a crash course in how the paper works. Since we only have one more week of publishing before the Christmas holidays, I feel like I’m going to have a lot to learn into the new year and like there’s a ton of potential for writing cool things.

By the time I got home, it was after 6! I decided I would go to the gym (after humming and ha-ing) because I know even though I’ve got lots on my plate, I couldn’t tackle it all tonight and I didn’t need to! Taking an hour for myself with something that got me off my butt and gave my head a break from thinking/worrying was just what I needed.

I had dinner before heading there, which is weird for me but worked.

20111128-190829.jpg

Pork with a sweet potato topped with maple syrup, brown sugar, cinnamon, and some pecans. Where are the veggies?

I went to the Athletic Club — a class called Chiseled. I took a chance on it because the instructor is one of those girls I want to be (aka I have a girl crush on her)–tough but funny, teaches a hard class, and plays good music…

We did a warmup with lots of squats and lunges and working with bands with partners and then did a circuit of jump squats with a med ball, med ball slams, pushups, bicep curls, reverse lunges, dumbbell swings/shoulder presses, jumping jacks, and mountain climbers three times through.

I finished up with 20 minutes on the elliptical but got bored and realized I wasn’t into it so came home, showered and fixed myself a delish snack. I knew I needed some fruits or veggies after my lacking dinner so I think I did a good job! I’m satisfied, comfy on my futon and ready to dive into my to do list. I’m putting a Christmas movie on in the background and hoping for the best.

20111128-213323.jpg

Mixed berries (frozen strawberries, fresh blackberries and raspberries) with a dark chocolate truffle square (Ghirardelli) mashed up on top<--it melted, it was delicious, you need to try it!

What’s on your workout playlist right now?
What’s your favourite bedtime snack?
What’s your favourite Christmas movie?  

 

2 responses to “Monday Fun-day

  1. I think you change your blog layout more often than I change my underwear! lol

Leave a Reply

