Third time’s a charm.

Guess what happened tonight?

Some new photos of me went on Facebook. Guess what I felt? Gross. Guess what I’m going to do about it? Absolutely nothing. Perspective. Old me would have said, this is it, I’m going on a diet and then I’ll be okay. I am not that naive now.

I think all of the reading and my determination to get better is starting to pay off, because I’m recalling a few things from Geneen Roth’s books. Good thing I dog ear pages.

 “The relentless attempts to be thin take you further and further away from what could actually end your suffering: getting back in touch with who you really are. Your true nature. Your essence.”

 

“Change happens when you understand what you want to change so deeply that there is no reason to do anything but act in your own best interest.”

 

“Real change happens bit by bit. It takes great effort to become effortless at anything. There are no quick fixes.”

 

And not so much about food or obsessing, she even gets why I find this blog so therapeutic.

“The purpose of life is not to be safe. It is to be open. To be dedicated to the truth, to the joy as it streams through your life. Because if you are not, then no matter what you have, you will always want more, you will be forever hungry. And if you are, than no matter what happens, you will one day discover that it is you who you have been hungering for. It has been you, not the food you eat, the clothes you buy, the people you love, the money you make. For lifetimes, for eons, for as long as it takes for a mountain to become a mountain, it has always been you. You are the feast. You.”
Now, if you’ll be inspired, I’ll be done with being cheesy. I’ve got cupcakes to deliver!

the ugly ones...dessert?

The finished product...perfect for a Sports editor, no?

 

 

Leave a Reply

