Best interview yet

After my morning post, I made it to a spin class and then headed to campus. I spent some time at the Gazette, went to the dietitian, and then did an interview I was really excited for. For my article about healthy living bloggers, I talked to Tina, who blogs at Carrots n Cake. The interview was awesome and made me want to work harder on my blog! She started hree and a half years ago, so I’ve got time to aspire to her level, but now she writes for Health.com (which is pretty ballin’ if you ask me), has her own book (which I’ve bought, so talking to her was REALLY cool), and blogs full time.

We talked about how she got where she is, what she thinks about the backlash against bloggers, and about the Healthy Living Summit! I transcribed the interview and am excited to get to work on my article, but I’m not sure when the end product’s going to be done. My biggest focus now is my grad school applications and my online portfolio, which I really want to do!

I had a pretty productive day. I ordered my transcripts for UBC and Columbia, made an appointment to meet with an admissions counsellor at Columbia next Tuesday (OMG–this is real!), and went to the dietitian and support group! I was busy but I feel pretty good about everything I got done.

I told the group about my blog today. I have kind of hidden it, because I wasn’t sure if it was a healthy thing. I think it’s helped immensely in my recovery and if I’m going to focus more on this thing as a way to inspire healthy living (new recipes? workouts? tidbits about recovery/a healthy balance? random things from my life?), I want to be totally open about it! Thanks to Tina for inspiring me!

I just got home after waiting too long for a meal (though I did have a tasty afternoon snack–cottage cheese and pumpkin butter that was not photogenic–, lunch, two snacks this morning, plus breakfast). Tonight’s dinner (salad with spinach and romaine, stuffed pork chop, dried cranberries, pecans, an apple, and some maple syrup/balsamic dressing on top) was full of volume to fill me up (I went back for more lettuce and fixings after I finished my plate) and I had a little chocolate to satisfy a raging sweet tooth.

Now I’m going to tear myself away from this comfy chair and go get some things I need to get me through to Sunday, when I leave (think cereal, fruit, and salad to supplement my groceries). Even though I’m exhausted and could easily go to bed when I get home, I’m going to go out with some friends instead. You only live once, and I’m not going to finish anything of quality (i.e. admissions essays, etc.) tonight!

It only seems fitting to include a link to one of Tina’s articles (she writes the “Feel Great Weight” posts on Health.com) about how to drink (not just alcoholic drinks) in a balanced way! Enjoy.

What’s your favourite drink to order when you’re out and about?
Do you read Carrots n Cake?

 

2 responses to “Best interview yet

  1. OMG that’s so cool that you got to interview Tina!! I used to read her blog but there are so many others I read that I just couldn’t keep up, especially since she posts more then once a day. I love it/her though! And congrats for telling people about your blog – I always get a little nervous when my friends find out, cuz not all of them know my past, but all the ones that know about it think its awesome so – power to you!! 😀

  2. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning
    this website. I really hope to check out the same high-grade content from you later on as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to
    get my own, personal blog now 😉

Leave a Reply

