Identity crisis, blogger style…

Confessions:

  • I miss blogging here.
  • I miss taking pictures of the food I eat, especially if I’m proud of it because it’s new or exciting or pretty!
  • I miss pointing out fun things I come across while reading — like when I was reading Runner’s World today and found a note about Boston’s version of the Santa Shuffle – in speedos! Mistake me if I’m wrong, but isn’t Boston cold too?
I gave the whole cheapandcheryl blog a go, and I think it could be something great. I don’t know if I have enough time to make it as great as I want it to be. I think my perfectionistic tendencies get to me when it comes to blogging.
I also had a few weeks where I was really questioning whether or not it was healthy to have a blog even kind of focused on eating, eating disorders, working out, training, etc. or if it was fuelling/reflecting an obsession. Lucky for me one of my assignments (one of too many, I can feel myself getting anxious) is a paper on anything of our choice (for our online portfolios class — SO much flexibility) and I decided to write about “healthy living” bloggers. At first I was a little cynical, a la Marie Claire, but then I got into some interviews. I’ll post it when it’s done, but I’m still trying to get a hold of some more sources! One thing I’ve confirmed: bloggers are BUSY!
So, I think that I may be back (I’ve said this before, I know!) but on different terms: no pressure! Just fun.

7 responses to “Identity crisis, blogger style…

  1. Yaaayyyy!! Positivity… you rock 🙂 xo.

  2. OMG! We should totally just wear our underwear! lol NOT!

  3. And definitely looking forward to reading that article.

  4. Have you heard of Get Off My Internets? There is a forum on that site with a section dedicated to HLBs, and most of what’s written there is criticism. I’m not sure that’s the sort of course you’re seeking, but it’s certainly an interesting and enlightening read. Quite a few people who post on GOMI have an ED background, and that topic comes up frequently.

    • I have heard of the site but today was the first time I’ve looked at it. People are pretty harsh so I had to stop–I was getting angry! While there are some (nameless) bloggers I do have my doubts about, I know I was at my unhealthiest when I looked my best so judging that someone is sick with an ED is a pretty tough thing to do, I’d say. I don’t know if you’ve seen the Marie Claire article but it really went after some of the bloggers I think do the best job of promoting HEALTHY not perfect and FIT not skinny. I’m pretty sensitive to when things are triggering since I’ve gone through the recovery process and I wouldn’t read something if I thought it was going to be dangerous for me…I guess it’s a personal decision. My article for class is becoming more of an intro, some of the criticisms, the benefits, and then a final word of caution, I guess!

Leave a Reply

