2012 is only 77 days away…

That’s just 1869 hours, folks.

No, really. 112 193 minutes and counting.

I’m relying not on super duper mathlete skills but on this countdown to any date website I use more than I should admit (yes, I count down to Christmas starting in July).

To distract myself from my race nerves and because Lauren, my top commentor (I appreciate that someone reads my posts!) and fellow blogger over at her own site —laurenblake.wordpress.com — asked me about my plans, I’m going to go ahead and list a few of the races/events I’m considering for this fall and up til July (August and September are hard to anticipate as I really don’t know where I’ll be with school, etc.) next year:

Oh Lordy. I’m so excited when I look at this list! The ones in parentheses are ones I don’t know about. To be honest, planning this far ahead is hard but makes sense when it comes to planning out training, budgeting, vacations, etc.

Off to bed for me…

“There will come a point in the race, when you alone will need to decide. You will need to make a choice. Do you really want it? You will need to decide.”

 

“In running, it doesn’t matter whether you come in first, in the middle of the pack, or last. You can say ‘I have finished.’ There is a lot of satisfaction in that.”

Here’s to finishing…strong!

Thoughts on my race ambitions? Are they too ambitious or just challenging enough?
Do you care to register for any with me?
Do you register way ahead or tend to wait until later on to sign up for a race?

 

 

7 responses to “2012 is only 77 days away…

  1. I’d love to do a few of those races! These are the ones that you listed that I might be interested in:
    * Dec. 3: Santa Shuffle (5k) – London, Ont. OR Sarnia, Ont.
    * Feb 5.: Hypothermic Half Marathon – Sarnia, Ont.
    * Mar. 25: Around the Bay (30km) – Hamilton, Ont.
    * May 6: Goodlife Marathon – Toronto, Ont.
    * (June 3: Pedal to the Pines (148km) – Sarnia, Ont.) – That seems like a ridiculously long time on a bike to me right now!
    * (June 4: CHOK Bridge Race (10km) – Sarnia, Ont.)
    * (June 17: National 24 Hour Challenge – Middleville, Mich.) – This is unreal! I don’t know if I could do it, but it sounds sweet!
    * (June 24: Welland Half Ironman – Welland, Ont.)

    I posted my tentative schedule here: http://laurenblake.wordpress.com/race-reports/

    It’s a work in progress though…

    • Okay! I love that we are planning this now!

      The 24 hour ride would be EPIC but would require so much training that I think it might throw off everything else…although the structure of the race means you could just do whatever fits in your training plan/survival plan.

      Do you set a budget for your race calendar?

      • I don’t have a real budget. I honestly never really thought about it. Which is so weird because I’m so budget conscious! I generally spend about $100/month on “fitness”, which at this time includes the gym for about $50/month. (What’s your budget? Am I being reasonable?)

        First thing’s first: Santa Shuffle? 5km? London? If you’re not game I might opt for the one in Guelph. Let me know. 🙂

      • I am SO game for the Santa shuffle BUT I don’t know if work will let me do it. I’m considering using my vacay days for the races since I have some left for this year…thoughts?

        I don’t think about the cost of the races. My friends blow 50 bucks easily to take a cab downtown and have drinks on a Saturday night. Guaranteed I’m in bed if I have a race so the cost all balances out in my mind. I might be delusional, but that’s alright. It works for me!

        I think you’re being reasonable. Health and happiness is a priority!

        I spend a ton on fitness etc. With teaching I don’t pay for a gym membership, but I did before and I’d do yoga classes pretty much weekly. I pay for swimming now, I’ve paid for a coach before for triathlon, and I am willing to pay for books, certifications, etc. too. Money well spent, as far as I’m concerned!

      • Oh and I definitely thought the race in Welland was a half marathon not a half ironman! haha Good luck with that one on your own. I’ll only consider a half ironman after I see how this year goes.

      • Fair enough, I think you’re gonna get hooked!

  2. Pingback: Sore but proud! | eatplayluvblog

Leave a Reply

