Nervous for a race? That’s the best part!

Even though I’ve done quite a few exciting events (I’m thinking back to the Gran Fondo in Philly last year — my first century ride and with thousands of other riders on bigger hills than I’ve ever seen) or races (my triathlons this summer were borderline terrifying but definitely exciting), I am still getting nervous for Saturday’s half marathon.

Luckily, I’m in good company. I know quite a few people running their own races this weekend, though most people are heading to Toronto for Sunday’s Scotiabank event! Good luck to everyone running the half or the full distance there. So many people assume that I’m doing this one when I talk about my race coming up and then seem a little less ‘impressed’ when I tell them I’m heading to Sarnia to run on a trail instead. I figure I’m running for myself and 13.1 miles is 13.1 miles (less thousands of runners and way more confusion) so I’m pretty darn proud of myself for trying to accomplish this distance!

Though I usually hate feeling anxious, I think the ‘anxiety’ that’s building for this race is more anticipation than anything. It helped that I came across this in Kara Goucher’s booklast week:

“Revel in your preface anxiety: Admittedly, battling your nerves and doubts before a big race is not always the most fun thing in the world…But in a way this is such a great thing, because it is a sign that the race really means something to you. How many other things in your life have this effect? Probably not that many. So embrace the feeling; it’s part of being a runner who races. And it makes finishing feel that much more fantastic.”

By the way, I would recommend her book. As someone who LOVES anything motivational with a hint of cheesy but also wants the facts, I think she does a good job of giving you her insight, some science, and throwing in some quotes and other tidbits for motivation along the way.

So, rather than feeling ‘nervous’ about this race, I’m getting excited! The best part about running a new distance (I have literally never run 13.1 miles at once, even if I combine the runs I’ve done in my duathlons) is not ONLY being able to justify carboloading but also knowing that whatever you end up running is going to be your personal best.

I’m looking forward to crossing this one off my bucket list! It’s a step towards the marathon, the Ironman…

“”There is no telling how many miles you will have to run while chasing a dream.”

3 responses to “Nervous for a race? That’s the best part!

  1. The trail half marathon you’re going to do looks neat. I’m a fan of smaller races. I totally agree that the distance is the distance regardless of where you’re running it. Good luck!

  2. Thanks Lauren! Happy tapering 😉

  3. Pingback: 2012 is only 77 days away… | eatplayluvblog

Leave a Reply

