New comforter = even more motivation to go to bed!

Hard to believe it’s Thursday night already, but so it is and that means I should be in bed pretty soon, since Fridays are my 6:15am spin / 7:15am yoga combo at Campus Rec! It’s an unregistered class, which means anyone can drop in, so if you’re a member, I think you should come out some time. Start now before it’s cold and snowy, get yourself in a routine, and I bet you’ll love getting your workout in right away (and you can always nap later).

Today was a day off, but a busy one!

I started my day off determined to get on the right foot with a healthy pre-workout snack.

my little caffeine kick, pumpkin bread, peanut butter, and some orange juice

Toast and peanut butter is a departure from my normal clif bar, but to be honest I am starting to get sick of clif bars and I don’t actually love eating that many packaged foods. I was a little nervous about eating something that seemed so much like a meal, but then I realized that’s old thought habits and that I’m better than that!

I got my bike and running shoes ready for my last brick workout before my race on Sunday. I was supposed to do 15 minutes bike/15 minutes run three times and I was looking forward to it, but the skies had a different idea!

Where there's a rainbow, there's probably rain...

Last time I did a brick, I went from my apartment, but the traffic and lights were too frustrating so I decided to head up to a parking lot somewhere and do the workout from there. Things looked good, the rainbow was out, etc. but then when I started my bike, I got SOAKED. To be honest I was scared, so I modified the workout and only did two of the bikes (it got sunny for a little and then started to threaten again). On my last run, my heart dropped because my foot started to hurt! If you’ve been reading my blog, you know I struggle a lot with injuries and that my foot was giving me heck back in June. I’ve been feeling good for a while now so this is NOT welcome and is certainly not coming at a good time! I cut my run short, iced it, and am planning on taking it UBER easy in spin tomorrow and trying to sit around as much as possible when I don’t have to be on my feet at school or work!

After that, I was upset but still determined to stay positive and again, on the right track! My dietitian reminded me yesterday of how important it is to fuel properly around my workouts, so I wanted to have the chocolate milk or other dairy item that she recommended after a workout. I chose to have steamed milk with mocha sauce (aka a skinny hot chocolate, I guess) from Starbucks (the tall size, so cute).

the "cute" size (short) hot chocolate...skim milk with mocha syrup, sugar free vanilla syrup instead of the regular stuff, and some cocoa cuz it looks pretty!

When I got home, I had to rush to get ready to head to the states for a doctor’s appointment. I made a quick breakfast (not so photogenic, so I’m leaving it out) and then Bonnie, whose blog “This is Blam I am” is amazing and kicks mine’s arse in terms of stats and comments, picked me up! We had plans to shop a little after my appointment and I miss that girl to death so I loved seeing her and having the company.

We sat on the bridge but I made it to my appointment on time. It took forever, so it was late afternoon when I was finished. We had sandwiches at the food court in the mall and then did some shopping!

I bought a lot of random things—some peanut butter I’ve wanted to try for a while now, a new kind of graham crackers, and tons of gum of course (Extra Dessert Delights–so good!). The steal of the day was the comforter I want to crash onto so badly now though! It was 75% off and cost me just 22 dollars! I hummed and ha-ed because I don’t really need one, but I blame my devastation over my foot for driving me to use retail therapy!

A step in the more mature direction from my zebra print/hot pink reverse comforter that I now stuffed under my bed in case I'm feeling wild...or cold.

By the time we were done shopping, it was dinner time but we both wanted to eat at home so we had snacks–I had greek yogurt and a nature valley bar, Bonnie was forced into trying all of the American foods from my childhood that I think she needs to experience (pumpkin little debbies, anyone? nutter butters?). When I got home, I felt like it was past dinner time so I whipped up a quick salad and then started my laundry, cleaned my kitchen, and here I am.

spinach, chicken, apple, cranberries, and walnuts with a dressing I made (maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil--simple!)

The days are really getting away from me and my to-do list is getting longer without me really feeling like I’m accomplishing much. Now, however, is not the time for me to beat myself up about it!

Anyone ever had a recurring injury come back at the worst time ever? How’d you deal?
What’s your favourite pre- or post-workout snack?
What food screams “childhood memories” for you? Do you eat it often?
How do you tackle a scary to-do list? 

4 responses to “New comforter = even more motivation to go to bed!

  1. I’m going to randomly choose one of your questions to answer each week (because you always have so many lol).

    2. My favourite pre-long-run food (as in the night before) is definitely icecream. For some reason (maybe carb loading?) it makes the morning workout so much easier! I think you mentioned icecream before, so I guess I’m just agreeing. Keep up the great posts. 🙂 And good luck this weekend! So excited to see how you do!

  2. So my sister sends me a quote from the book “Don’t sweat the small stuff” every morning .. Here is The one from today.

    #6 Remind yourself when you die, your “in basket” won’t be empty

    So many of us live our lives as if the secret purpose is to somehow get everything done. We stay up late, get up early, avoid having fun, and keep our loved ones waiting. We convince our self that our “to do” list is only temporary and that once we finish it we will be calm, relaxed and happy. But in reality, this rarely happens.

    Keep reminding yourself that the purpose of life isn’t to get it all done but to enjoy each step along the way and live a life filled with love. And when you die – someone else will do it for you. Don’t waste any more precious moments regretting the inevitable.

    Have a good one my dear!

  3. Wow. I just read the reply above from Sarah. Amazing. So true!

Leave a Reply

