TGIF

Holy smokes — it’s already after ten and I’ve got an early morning tomorrow with the duathlon. Race kit pickup starts at 7:15am and it’s about an hour away. The first race I like to get there a little earlier than early since I’m A type and worry that I’m going to be late or not have time to warm up! Anyways, the weather looks less than ideal, but as long as it doesn’t thunderstorm, I’m happy (ish). I think more of the races I’ve done have been in the rain than not, and my bike is already dirty. I’ve got the four hour drive to look forward to after to get to Mount Pleasant, but I’ve got a book on tape to get me there!

This morning’s yoga classes went well! They were both small, with only two people in each, but that’s okay…it’s nice when you know the people and you know that they’re brave, strong, and willing to try new things (which is exactly the classes I had today).

For the power class:

  • 5 rounds of Surya Namaskara A (don’t worry, I can’t say it right either!)
  • 5 rounds of Surya Namaskara B 
  • some time spent hanging out in down dog — focusing on new cues like bringing the shoulder blades together, bringing energy inwards (i.e. pushing into the big toes and into the thumb/pointer finger rather than letting everything collapse out — I borrowed this from Rob’s Power Fusion class at Moksha) and using one hand instead of two, etc.
  • three legged dog and flipping the dog, my new favorite thing to do (watch a video!) but trust me it’s cooler to feel it!
  • side plank, lifting the top leg for an extra challenge
  • crescent warrior 
  • warrior B 
  • side angle
  • triangle 
  • straddle forward fold with a couple of variations
  • intense side stretch
  • revolved triangle
  • balancing postures like extended hand to big toe pose, etc. to toppling tree, half moon, and dancer
  • child’s pose to recenter
  • table top position with spinal balance and an ab challenge (borrowed from Chelsea’s slow flow class!)
  • awkward airplane
  • boat, lowering down and controlling the lift back up
  • shoulder stand
  • right down into bridge with a block between the thighs
  • wheel
  • lying down stretches for the thighs
  • knees to chest
  • final relaxation!
    …like I said, I really tried to focus on new things, like trying to bring the mat together while you’re in warrior B, or like trying to draw the shoulder blades closer together whenever you come to flat back. I held things a little longer (or tried to), tried walking around more (working on this as an instructor), and tried to read how my girls were doing with things!   Ideally, the class would have had an arm balance to challenge them, maybe some more openers for the chest and another twist or two but an hour goes by quickly and I am still learning how to pick and choose enough but not too many things for each class. Every week is different because you never know who’s going to be around or how they’re bodies will be feeling. That’s part of the fun part about being a teacher, I guess!  I keep hearing this quote: “Yoga teaches us to cure what cannot be endured and to endure what cannot be cured.” I don’t remember where I first read it but it’s really stuck with me!

After the power class above, I taught the slow flow class and then met my mom for a quick lunch! I didn’t take a picture of my pretty basic ham and cheese sandwich (with carrot sticks I brought along).  I hustled back to London, had my HR appointment at lululemon — I am SO excited to start training next week with such a cool place to work and an awesome company to work for — and then did a little shopping!

Even though I ate a granola bar and an apple as a snack (carbing up for tomorrow’s race, apparently), I was ravenous by the time I got to the store and I ended up eating half of the grapes I bought on the car ride home! To justify it, I threw them on my salad, along with goat cheese and pork and poppyseed (Kraft Calorie Wise — so good) dressing! I had my favorite side ever: acorn squash with brown sugar, walnuts, raisins, and cinnamon! I microwave the squash for 8 minutes and then mash up the inside before I add the stuff and put it under a broiler til the walnuts are toasted. I could eat this every night (it’s like dessert and dinner all at once). I’m still full but I’ve been snacking on rosebuds and again using tomorrow’s race as justification! I know you don’t need to carb load for a sprint duathlon, but I believe in the power of positive thinking!

dinner!

pork on a salad with grapes and goat cheese + butternut squash with brown sugar, cinnamon, raisins, and walnuts! so good!

Anyways, I think it’s off to bed for me! The night before a race is a tough one for me. I have my stuff ready to go for tomorrow, but I still worry that I’m going to forget something or pop a tire when I go to pump them at the race site or that I’ll get there and find out I’m not actually registered.  I have no reason to fear the worst, so instead I’m going to try some positive visualization here. I’m not in it because I’m looking to win and boost my ego, but I do like to set a goal that is a little out of my reach. My mentality is to work hard enough that I really want to quit but then to force myself to keep going! So far it’s worked for me.

I bought “The Great Fitness Experiment” (I linked you to the blog the other day) on my ipad this evening! I’m not sure why I waited so long to download the kobo for ipad app! I am so excited to be able to get more books (itunes is seriously lacking in Canada, and my Sonybook is collecting dust ever since I got my ipad!).  I’m in the middle of “Run Like a Girl”, which I saw first on the Today show (I have a little bit of an addiction) and then went out and bought. It’s been easy to read and I’m really enjoying it–I’d recommend it.  My summer reading list is getting longer. To be honest I’m starting to wonder if there are enough hours in the day…there’s so much I’m looking forward to!

Hope everyone has an awesome and DRY weekend! What are you guys up to?
Anyone reading a good book now that textbooks aren’t the only thing we have time for?
What’s your favorite go-to dinner?
How do you guys get ready for a race or competition?
Anyone else really like running in the rain?
Got any suggestions for my power yoga class?
…notice I really am fishing for comments here — humor me, please!

3 responses to “TGIF

  1. Just wanted to say keep up the good work on the blog, its a fun read. To answer your dinner question, just about the best dinner I can make these days involves chicken, pasta and sauce – depressing, I know.. It might be a male thing. I’m working on being creative and hopefully can learn from your recipes.. but its surprising hard to get new food into the kitchen.

    For everyone else, I’m someone who has been to both Cheryl’s yoga and spin class at UWO. She’s a great instructor!

  2. Hello! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

Leave a Reply

