A day in the life…June 8, 2011

I have to admit, it took me a few seconds to remember what day of the week it is…that’s just an indication of how weird my days and life in general have been lately! I am definitely “in transition”, as my favorite fitness instructor (Tanya, at the Athletic Club — I hope I am 1/100th as motivating as she is!), would describe me.

Background information? Why not! Literally five minutes ago my blackberry dinged with an email I’ve been long-awaiting, subject line “You have an offer from Lululemon!” As terrifying as it is to be growing up, starting a job, and entering the real world, I have never been as excited about a big change as I am right now! Along with an educator job at lululemon, I’m also working as the Assistant Coordinator for the group fitness program at Western! This job is great–I get to work for a very cool boss with some awesome people, and there’s tons of flexibility for things we get to do (website work, programs, etc. so if you have ideas, do NOT be shy!). If you’re in London, you should really check out the Western Student Recreation Centre–it’s the best place to work!  I’m still working on freelance things–my first article was in Canadian Cycling Magazine last week, and I had another article go up on Bankrate.com today!  Anyways, life is full of possibilities for me…

After a nice sleep (a 7am wake up seems a little bit like a sleep in after teaching 6am and 7am fitness classes), I woke up, dilly dallied after my breakfast and caught up on emails and facebook messages, and then headed to the WSRC to do some work. Mostly brainstorming, there are SO MANY cool things the personal trainer assistant coordinator, my boss, and I would like to get going on this summer. The list is long and, if I may say so myself, awesome, but it’s time to get down to work!

coffee, vanilla soy milk, Kashi GoLean Crunch + Fibre 1, peaches, and blueberries

If you’ve seen my daily mile already, forgive me! Though I’m not much of a swimmer, I’d like to be! Today is an easy day (after a bunch of hard workouts, my body is telling me it needs to take it a little easier), not to mention we have a smog advisory and an insane humidex in London today, so I decided to go for a swim! Never sure how to put on my swim cap, which pair of goggles in my locker is the leaky one, or when the last time I washed my towel (ew) was, I swam for about half an hour. I like counting down so I did four sets of 250m (five times there and back, if you’re pool illiterate like I am) with a couple of easy laps thrown in to make it interesting. The girl in the lane next to me was intimidating and inspiring at the same time, bearing the Ironman tattoo on her calf (that I covet so much…bucket list!).

After my swim, I headed to Remark (the best grocery store ever) and then headed home for lunch! I ran a few errands and settled at Starbucks this afternoon to figure out how to get this blog going (and to escape from my sauna of an apartment somewhere nice and air conditioned).

whole grain bun with pork, light mayonnaise, low fat havarti, mixed greens and broccoli with some more cheese

yogurt, granola, and an applegranola, and an apple...I also had a morning snack of a clif crunchy granola bar and a banana! love snacks!

I’m just finishing this up and then heading to Moksha for a Power Fusion class–Wednesday nights is a really good class! It took me a long time to find a class that really fits for me, and without jinxing it, I think I’ve got it!

From here, my week gets a little busier (appointments tomorrow, then to Sarnia / Windsor for a bike race if the weather holds, teaching at Sarnia Yoga on Friday, and then back to London for a meeting at lulu and to Woodstock on Saturday for my first duathlon of the season <– I wasn’t going to tell anyone, but I guess the cat’s out of the bag and now I can’t bail!).

Happy Wednesday, everyone! What’s everyone else doing?

2 responses to “A day in the life…June 8, 2011

  1. Everyone else is doing nothing? I know people read this — I can see my stats! COMMENT so I feel like I have an audience, sheesh!

  2. Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn. That is
    an extremely well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of
    your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

Leave a Reply

